National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Ek, Magnus and Emma, House
Reference Number 13000032
State Oregon
County Marion
Town Silverton
Street Address 729 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR
Multiple Property Submission Name Silverton, Oregon, and Its Environs MPS
Status Listed 02/20/2013
Areas of Significance ARCHITECTURE
Link to full file
The Magnus and Emma Ek House, located in Silverton, Marion County, Oregon, is significant at the local level under Criterion C in the area of architecture as an excellent example of a Queen Anne residence in Silverton. The house was constructed during a time of incredible industrial growth in Silverton, and represents one of the most popular styles of the period. This 2.5-story residence, built in 1890, is one of the finest remaining examples of a Queen Anne-style residence in the area. The Magnus and Emma Ek House retains integrity and meets the general and specific registration requirements set forth in the Domestic Architecture in Silverton, Oregon, and its Environs MPD.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria