National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Savannah Pharmacy and Fonvielle Office Building
Reference Number 13000023
State Georgia
County Chatham
Town Savannah
Street Address 914-918 Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard, Savannah, GA
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 02/20/2013
Areas of Significance Architecture, Commerce, Ethnic Heritaqe: Black
Link to full file
The Savannah Pharmacy and Fonvielle Office Building is significant at the local level under National Register Criteria A and C in the areas of architecture, commerce, and black ethnic heritage. The Savannah Pharmacy is significant in the area of architecture as an excellent example of modern architecture because of its emphasis on modern materials and technology, abstract geometric imagery, and its lack of historicism. The pharmacy is significant in the area of commerce because it served as a pharmacy and also provided space for a variety of other businesses. The pharmacy is also significant in the area of black ethnic heritage because it was among the longest-operating African-American businesses in Savannah. The three generations of the Fonvielle family that operated the business cultivated regular customers and contended with urban renewal, which resulted in the decline of the West Broad Street neighborhood; desegregation, which led to diminished sales as African Americans patronized stores that previously had been designated for whites only; and competition from national drugstore chains.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria