National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name C. P. Stephens DeSoto Six Motorcars
Reference Number 13000019
State Arizona
County Maricopa
Town Phoenix
Street Address 915 N. Central Ave, Phoenix, Arizona
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 02/20/2013
Areas of Significance COMMERCE
Link to full file
The C. P. Stephens DeSoto Six Motorcars building is considered significant at the local level under National Register Criterion A for its association with early commerce in Phoenix, Arizona. It is a good example of a once-common property type associated with auto-dependent architecture in the years prior to World War Two. It represents the importance of auto-related commerce to the development of Phoenix and is today a rare surviving example. The DeSoto Six was a six cylinder vehicle; the company later added an eight cylinder model (the Desoto Eight). The period of significance for the building extends through 1962 at the fifty-year limit for the National Register; the property continued to be used for automotive purposes until 1970.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria