National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name North Hampton Town Hall
Reference Number 13000006
State New Hampshire
County Rockingham
Town North Hampton
Street Address 231 Atlantic Avenue, North Hampton, NH
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 02/13/2013
Areas of Significance Social History, Architecture
Link to full file
The North Hampton Town Hall in North Hampton, New Hampshire is eligible for the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion A, Social History, and under Criterion C, Architecture. The Town Hall has been the center of local government and community activities for over one hundred and sixty years. It has housed town meetings, the selectmen's office, the town library, the town jail and provided storage for the fire department. It has also served as an important center of community activity. Despite modifications to accommodate the evolving role and needs of town government and the relocation of the building in the late 19th century to a site (a quarter of a mile away) more convenient to the all-important railroad, the building retains the essential features of its original design and is an example of transitional Federal-Greek Revival architecture. The North Hampton Town Hall displays integrity of location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling and association. The period of significance for the property is 1844-1962, reflecting its original date of construction and the fifty-year cut-off of the National Register. The property is significant on the local level.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria