National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Gravel Switch Historic District
Reference Number 12001201
State Kentucky
County Marion
Town Gravel Switch
Street Address Properties fronting State Route 243 (Gravel Switch Road), East Railroad Avenue, and Aliceston Road
Multiple Property Submission Name Crossroads Communities in Kentucky's Bluegrass Cultural Landscape Region
Status Listed 1/22/2014
Link to full file
The Gravel Switch Historic District meets National Register Criterion A for its associations with events that have made contributions to broad patterns of local history. The district's significance is evaluated within the context developed within a Multiple Property Submission, --Crossroad Communities in Washington and Marion Counties, Kentucky , 1865-1961.-- This nomination will look at the Planning and Development decisions, as they were enacted in residential and commercial constructions, which resulted in a crossroads community. This building activity helps illustrate the characteristics of crossroads communities in Marion County, differentiating the village as a distinct town form from the county seat town of Lebanon, and the county's river towns, such as Raywick.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria