• Banner image: Medicine Wheel/Medicine Mountain

    National Historic Landmarks Program

Home > Learn > Publications > National Park System Advisory Board

The National Park System Advisory Board


The National Park System Advisory Board was established in 1935 by an Act of Congress to advise the Secretary of the Interior on park-related matters, and recommend policies affecting National Parks and the restoration, reconstruction, conservation, and administration of historic and archeological sites.

The 12-member board advises the Director of the National Park Service (NPS) and the Secretary of the Interior on issues concerning the national parks and programs managed by the NPS, and also makes recommendations concerning National Historic Landmarks, National Natural Landmarks, and proposed National Historic Trails.

To learn more about the board's work from 1935 to 1999, please consult this short history.


National Historic Landmarks Committee

National Historic Landmark nominations are reviewed by the National Park Service Advisory Board National Historic Landmarks Committee. The current Landmarks Committee includes:

  • Dr. Stephen J. Pitti (chair): board member, NPSAB; Professor of American Studies and History; Director of the Program in Ethnicity, Race, and Migration; and Master of Ezra Stiles College, Yale University
  • Dr. James M. Allan, RPA: Principal, William Self Associates; Adjunct Professor, Anthropology Department, St. Mary's College of California; consultant to the California State Lands Heritage Commission on matters related to the State's submerged cultural heritage
  • Dr. Cary Carson: Retired Vice President, Research Division, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation
  • Dr. Yong Chen: Professor of History, University of California, Irvine
  • Mr. Douglas Harris: Deputy Tribal Historic Preservation Officer for the Narragansett Tribe (Rhode Island); Ceremonial Landscapes Preservationist for the Narragansett
  • Ms. Mary Hopkins: Wyoming State Historic Preservation Officer
  • Mr. Luis Hoyos, AIA: Assistant Professor of Architecture and Urban Design, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
  • Dr. Sarah Leavitt: Curator, National Building Museum, Washington, DC
  • Dr. Barbara J. Mills: Professor of Anthropology and Interdisciplinary Faculty Member, American Indian Studies, University of Arizona
  • Dr. Michael E. Stevens: State Historian of Wisconsin Emeritus
  • Dr. Amber Wiley: Architectural and urban historian; board member, Vernacular Architecture Forum
  • Dr. David Young; Executive Director, Cliveden; board member, Philadelphia Cultural Fund

Additional biographical information about Landmarks Committee members is available.

The Landmarks Committee has produced a white paper on the NHL Program.

Information on the Spring 2017 Landmarks Committee Workshop is now available.