Shirley Temple stars in Captain January

1936 film
Shirley Temple

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
News Release Date: January 11, 2017

Contact: Laura Orleans, 508-993-8894

Contact: Emily G Prigot, 508-996-4095

The Dock-U-Mentaries Film Series continues on Friday, January 20th at 7:00 PM with Captain January, a 1936 classic starring Shirley Temple.  Dock-U-Mentaries is a co-production of New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park and the New Bedford Fishing Heritage Center. Films about the working waterfront are screened on the third Friday of each month beginning at 7:00 PM in the theater of the Corson Maritime Learning Center, located at 33 William Street in downtown New Bedford. All programs are open to the public and presented free of charge.
 
As a break from the series’ usual documentary fare, New Bedford Fishing Heritage Center is pleased to present the 1936 classic, Captain January. Based on the 1890 children's book Captain January, by Laura E. Richards, the film stars the one and only Shirley Temple. Temple plays a child named Star, who is rescued and taken in by a salty old lighthouse-keeper known as Captain January (Guy Kibbee). Star is nurtured by a community of aging sailors who adore her, including her hoofer friend Paul (Buddy Ebsen), with whom Star sings and dances one of the most-beloved numbers from a Shirley Temple movie, "At the Codfish Ball." Star's fable-like paradise is disrupted by the appearance of a truant officer (Sara Haden), who determines the child isn't receiving proper schooling and overall care. That decision leads to a bit of conflict and despair, but with Temple charming her way through her character's mostly enchanted circumstances, it's not hard to have faith in happy endings.
 
The New Bedford Fishing Heritage Center, Inc. is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving and presenting the history and culture of New Bedford’s fishing industry through exhibits, programs, and archives. www.fishingheritagecenter.org
 
New Bedford Whaling National Historical Park was established by Congress in 1996 to help preserve and interpret America’s nineteenth century whaling industry. The park, which encompasses a 13-block National Historic Landmark District, is the only National Park Service area addressing the history of the whaling industry and its influence on the economic, social, and environmental history of the United States. The National Park visitor center is located at 33 William Street in downtown New Bedford. It is open from 9 AM-5 PM, and offers information, exhibits, and a free orientation movie every hour on the hour from 10 AM-4 PM. The visitor center is wheelchair-accessible, and is free of charge. For more information, call the visitor center at 508-996-4095, go to www.nps.gov/nebe or visit the park’s Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/NBWNHP. Everyone finds their park in a different way. Discover yours at FindYourPark.com
 
www.nps.gov
 
About the National Park Service. More than 20,000 National Park Service employees care for America's 414 national parks and work with communities across the nation to help preserve local history and create close-to-home recreational opportunities. Visit us at www.nps.gov, on Facebook www.facebook.com/nationalparkservice, Twitter www.twitter.com/natlparkservice, and YouTube www.youtube.com/nationalparkservice.
 
 



Last updated: January 11, 2017

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

33 William Street
New Bedford, MA 02740

Phone:

508-996-4095

Contact Us