National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Bethphage Mission
Reference Number 13000199
State Nebraska
County Kearney
Town Axtell
Street Address 1044 23rd Road, Axtell, NE
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 04/24/2013
Areas of Significance Ethnic Heritage/European, Architecture, Religion, Health/Medicine
Link to full file
Bethphage Mission in Axtell is significant at the state level under a variety of criteria. Bethphage is eligible under Criterion A for its care of disabled individuals in Nebraska and its association with the Swedish and the Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church in Nebraska during the late 19th and 20th centuries. Under Criterion B, Bethphage founder Reverend Kjell Gustav William Dahl conceived the idea to serve people with disabilities as valued members of society and whose single-minded determination made Bethphage a reality. Lastly, under Criterion C, the buildings being nominated were built in a Swedish National Romanticism style, a unique style in Nebraska. Significant dates listed tie to the founding of Bethphage Mission in 1913 and the building of the significant contributing buildings including Tabor Hall in 1916, Kidron in 1928, Zion Chapel in 1931 and Bethesda in 1951. While there is a tie to the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, the property derives its primary significance from architectural distinction and historical importance.


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria