Coon Rapids Dam Regional Park (West)

 
coonRapidsWest

Introduction

The Mississippi River defines the east boundary of this unique park where there are many opportunities to see our nation’s greatest river up close. In addition to being a popular fishing and picnicking destination, the west Visitor Center provides interpretive programs and displays of the area’s natural history. There is spectacular scenery and abundant wildlife viewing from the 12-foot-wide walkway across the dam, more than two miles of trails in the park, and miles of adjoining regional trail.

History

The Coon Rapids dam was built in 1913 by the Northern Mississippi Power Company. It took 1,000 men just a little over 1 year to complete the entire dam system. During construction, a small town grew up on the Anoka County side of the river, complete with barracks, hospitals, fire stations and even dance halls.

Nestled in the woods above the river floodplain, the West Coon Rapids Dam Visitor Center in Brooklyn Park focuses on the natural history of the Mississippi River. The park provides safe and easy access to the river for investigating water quality. Hands-on programs cover the physical, chemical, and biological health of the Mississippi River.

Activities

There are extensive trails for hiking, bicycling, skiing and snowshoeing. Some of the best bird watching in the metro area can be found in this park along bicycle and hiking trails. This is also an Mississippi National River and Recreation Area passport stamp location. The park also hosts a Paddle Share station from which kayaks may be rented online.

Hours, Directions, and Contact Information

Last updated: November 4, 2017

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

111 E. Kellogg Blvd., Suite 105
Saint Paul, MN 55101

Phone:

(651) 293-0200
This is the general phone line at the Visitor Center. Please leave a voicemail if we miss your call and expect a return call within 1 day, often sooner.

Contact Us