2018 Visitor Services and Interpretive Programs

 

Mesa Verde Visitor and Research Center

Tuesday, January 2 to Saturday, April 14
Sunday, April 15 to Thursday, May 24
Friday, May 25 to Monday, September 3
Tuesday, September 4 to Saturday, October 20
Sunday, October 21 to Monday, December 31
8:30 am to 4:30 pm
8:00 am to 5:00 pm
7:30 am to 7:00 pm
8:00 am to 5:00 pm
8:30 am to 4:30 pm

*The Visitor Center is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day.
 

Chapin Mesa Archeological Museum

Tuesday, January 2 to Saturday, April 14
Sunday, April 15 to Saturday, September 29
Sunday, September 30 to Saturday, October 20
Sunday, October 21 to Monday, December 31
9:00 am to 4:30 pm
8:00 am to 6:30 pm
8:00 am to 5:00 pm
9:00 am to 4:30 pm

*The museum is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.
 

Morefield Ranger Station

Tuesday, January 2 to Saturday, May 26
Sunday, May 27 to Monday, September 3
Tuesday, September 4 to Monday, December 31
Closed
5:00 pm to 8:30 pm, daily
Closed
 

Concessions



For hours and information on concessions such as lodging, camping, and restaurants, go to Eating & Sleeping.
 
Separation bar with triangles - black and white
 

RANGER-GUIDED TOURS
of Balcony House, Cliff Palace, and Long House

 

Balcony House Tours (ticket required)

(Purchase tickets at the Visitor & Research Center.)

Tuesday, January 2 to Saturday, April 14 Closed
Sunday, April 15 to Saturday, May 5 10:00 am to 4:00 pm; every hour
Sunday, May 6 to Thursday, May 24 10:00 am to 5:00 pm; every hour and 9:30 am and 3:30 pm
Friday, May 25 to Saturday, August 18 9:00 am to 5:00 pm; every 1/2 hour
Sunday, August 19 to Saturday, October 20 10:00 am to 5:00 pm; every hour and 9:30 am and 3:30 pm
Sunday, October 29 to Monday, December 31 Closed
 

Cliff Palace Tours (ticket required)

(Purchase tickets at the Visitor & Research Center.)

Tuesday, January 2 to Thursday, May 24
Friday, May 25 to Saturday, September 8
Sunday, September 9 to Sunday, September 23
Monday, September 24 to Monday, December 31
Closed*
9:00 am to 6:00 pm; every 1/2 hour
9:00 am to 5:00 pm; every 1/2 hour
Closed*

*Due to the complexity and location of the preservation work needed at Cliff Palace this spring & fall, the cliff dwelling opens on May 25 and will close for the season on September 24. For information on the Cliff Palace preservation project, visit our website at https://go.nps.gov/cliff.
 

Twilight Tours of Cliff Palace (ticket required)


(Reservations will be available online at www.recreation.gov by mid-February.)
Friday, May 25 to Saturday, July 21
Sunday, July 22 to Saturday, September 8
7:15 pm
6:45 pm
 

Long House Tour on Wetherill Mesa (ticket required)

(Purchase tickets at the Visitor & Research Center.)

Friday, January 2 to Friday, May 19
Saturday, May 20 to Friday, May 25
Saturday, May 26 to Saturday, September 15
Sunday, September 16 to Saturday, October 20
Sunday, October 21 to Monday, December 31
Closed
9:30 am, 12:30 pm, and 2:00 pm
9:00 am, 10:00 am, 11:00 am, 2:00 pm, 3:00 pm, and 4:00 pm
9:30 am, 12:30 pm, and 2:00 pm
Closed

 

Morefield Campground Evening Program

Saturday, May 26 to Saturday, July 21
Sunday, July 22 to Saturday, August 18
Sunday, August 19 to Sunday, September 2
9:00 pm
8:30 pm
8:15 pm
 
 
Separation bar with triangles - black and white
 

WETHERILL MESA

 
Wetherill Mesa will offer seasonal opportunities. Be sure to pick up a Wetherill Mesa Visitor Guide when you arrive. It will contain a map and information about the best way to visit this part of the park.

 

EARLY SPRING and LATE FALL

♦Sunday, April 29 (or as soon as weather/road conditions permit) to Saturday, May 19
♦Sunday, October 21 to Wednesday, October 31 (earlier if weather/road conditions close the road)


Wetherill Mesa Road* open 8:00 am to 6:00 pm

In early spring and late fall, the Wetherill Mesa is open self-guided (no services) when weather permits. Cliff dwellings can be viewed from various viewpoints. The 5-mile, paved Long House Loop and other existing trails are open for hiking and/or bicycle riding.


SPRING - Sunday, May 20 to Thursday, May 24

Wetherill Mesa Road* open 8:00 am to 6:00 pm
Wetherill Mesa Information Kiosk open 9:00 am to 4:30 pm
Long House Tour** (ticket required) at 9:30 am, 12:30 pm, and 2:00 pm
Step House, self-guided, open 9:15 am to 4:00 pm


SUMMER - Friday, May 25 to Saturday, September 15

Wetherill Mesa Road* open 8:00 am to 7:00 pm
Wetherill Mesa Information Kiosk open 9:00 am to 6:30 pm
Long House Tour** (ticket required) at 9:00 am, 10:00 am, 11:00 am, 2:00 pm, 3:00 pm, and 4:00 pm
Step House, self-guided, open 9:00 am to 4:00 pm


FALL - Sunday, September 16 to Saturday, October 20

Wetherill Mesa Road* open 8:00 am to 6:00 pm
Wetherill Mesa Information Kiosk open 9:00 am to 4:30 pm
Long House Tour** (ticket required) at 9:30 am, 12:30 pm, and 2:00 pm
Step House, self-guided, open 9:15 am to 4:00 pm


* Bicycles are not allowed on the narrow, steep, and winding Wetherill Mesa Road. You can transport your bikes to Wetherill Mesa and ride the designated trails.

** Purchase tickets for Long House at the Visitor & Research Center.

 
 
Separation bar with triangles - black and white
 

Special Backcountry Hikes (ticket required)

(Reservations will be available online at www.recreation.gov/ by mid-February.)
 
Balcony House Early Bird Tour
Sunday, May 27 to Saturday, September 8
Daily at 8:00 am
Square Tower House
May 24 to October 13 at 8:00 am
Mondays, Thursdays, and Saturdays

Balcony House Sunrise Tour
Thursday, June 21 at 5:15 am
Friday, June 22 at 5:15 am
Saturday, September 22 at 6:15 am
Sunday, September 23 at 6:15 am

Wetherill Mesa Bike and Hike
May 30 to September 5 at 9:30 am
Wednesdays
Mug House
May 29 to October 19 at 9:30 am
Tuesdays, Fridays, and Sundays
Yucca House
Saturday, May 12 at 8:00 am
Saturday, September 15 at 8:00 am
 
Separation bar with triangles - black and white
 

Luminaria Holiday Open House



Thursday, December 13 from 4:00 pm to 9:00 pm

 
 

Last updated: January 5, 2018

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

PO Box 8
Mesa Verde National Park, CO 81330

Phone:

(970) 529-4465

Contact Us