Frequently Asked Questions

Map of the Lower Mississippi Delta Region

What is the Lower Mississippi Delta Region?

The Lower Mississippi Delta Region is a large and diverse area encompassing all or parts of seven states bound together by their ties to the river. Broadly defined, the Delta region spans the entire lower portion of the river beginning in southern Illinois, covering portions of Missouri, Kentucky, and Tennessee, and including all of Arkansas, Mississippi, and Louisiana.

What does it cost to enter a Park?

Entrance fees vary from park to park. Though most parks in the Lower Mississippi Delta Region do not require an entrance fee, some do, and others may charge fees for access to campgrounds or for tours. More specific information regarding fees can be found on that park’s website.

Where can I buy an America the Beautiful Pass?

Some America the Beautiful park passes may be acquired at Buffalo National River, Little Rock Central High School, Fort Smith, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Jefferson National Expansion Memorial, Natchez National Historic Park, Ozark National Scenic Riverways, Ulysses S. Grant National Historic Site, and Vicksburg National Military Park. To find out of passes are in stock, please contact the site most convenient to you.

What’s the best way to contact a Park?

The best way to contact a park depends on the park. Some parks respond best to direct phone calls, others prefer email. A list of Park contact numbers and links to their websites can be found in the “Contact Us” section of this site.

How do I get a job with the National Park Service?

All federal jobs, including those with the National Park Service, are listed on USA Jobs. More information about obtaining a job or internship with the Park Service can also be found on the Work With Us section of the Park Service website.

Last updated: October 6, 2017