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Water Use Regulations

Boating Requirements

Lifejackets - A minimum of one good and serviceable U.S. Coast Guard approved lifejacket for each
person on board. Lifejackets must fit the intended user. All persons 12 years or younger must wear a
lifejacket while on board a vessel.

Throwables - All boats 16 feet or over must have a U.S. Coast Guard approved type IV (throwable) Per-
sonal Flotation Device on board in addition to lifejackets for each individual.

Registration - All boats must be numbered according to the rules and regulations established by the
states. Numbers must be displayed properly on boat hull and valid registration papers carried on ves-
sel.

Navigation Lights - Lights authorized by Nevada and Arizona state law must be added if boat is oper-
ated between sunset and sunrise.

Fire Extinguisher - All vessels must have a fire extinguisher immediately available. Boats of open con-
struction under 26 feet in length are not required to have an extinguisher, but it is recommended.

Safe Boating Course - Effective January 1, 2003, all operators of vessels powered by a motor over 15
horsepower on interstate waters and were born on or after January 1, 1983, must possess a certificate
of completion for a boater education course or proficiency exam.

General Information

Boating Accidents - All boating accidents must be reported to the National Park Service within 24
hours.

Boarding of Vessels - A boat may be boarded at any time by an authorized person to determine com-
pliance with regulations

Regulatory Markers —
A flat wake speed, not exceeding 5 mph, is required while in areas posted with
a "No Wake"” buoy or within 200 feet of beaches, people and boats. *"
Restricted Areas - Restricted areas are marked by white buoys with an orange -
diamond shape with cross inside the diamond and having an orange band above %‘5
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and below the cross. BOATERS KEEP OUT!
Dive Flag - In Nevada you must be at flat wake speed within 200 feet of a
diver-down flag. In addition to the flat wake restriction, in Nevada a
boat may not approach a diver-down flag closer than 100 feet.
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Prohibited Activities

Bow Riding - Allowing a person to ride on the gunwales, transom or on the decking over the
bow, when operating a motorboat in excess of 5 mph.

Noise - Operating a boat which produces a noise in excess of 82 decibels measured at 82 feet.
Not all muffled engines meet this requirement.

Drugs/Alcohol and Reckless Operation - Operating a vessel while under the influence of drugs
or alcohol or operating a vessel in a reckless or negligent manner.

Age Limits
In Arizona, no person under 12 years of age may operate a vessel propelled by a motor of great-
er than eight horsepower. In Nevada a personal watercraft operator must be 14 years or older.

Pollution
Draining, dumping or discharging wastes into the water.

Tying to Regulatory Markers - Attaching a vessel to any type of navigational buoy or marker.
Fishing - Fishing within harbors or designated swimming areas.

Glass/Styrofoam - No glass or Styrofoam containers in the park.

Littering - Boat it in, boat it out. Always use trash receptacles for litter.

Sanitation and portable toilets - All boaters must carry and use portable toilets if needed.

Hovercraft/Airboats
Use of hovercraft and airboats is prohibited.

Water-skiing - A bright orange or bright red, square or rectangular flag, each side no less than
12 inches in length, must be displayed while skier is in the water. In addition to the operator of
the vessel, there must be one person observing the person being towed. In Nevada, the observ-
er must be at least 12 years old (ten years of age if a 21 year-old is aboard the boat).

Water-skiers must wear a lifesaving device. U.S. Coast Guard approved device must be available
in the towing boat if the skier is wearing one that is not approved. In Nevada, the water-skier
must wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved device. Skiing is permitted only between sunrise and

sunset. Skiing is prohibited within 500 feet of harbors and mooring areas, or within 100 feet of
a swimmer or diver.
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