National Historic Landmarks

Alaska’s nationally designated landmarks span the state from Kake, in Southeast Alaska, to the Birnirk site in Barrow, the northernmost community in Alaska. They range from Eagle, on the Canadian border, to Attu, at the western end of the Aleutian Island chain. Seventeen landmarks are considered to be archeological, with most dating back to pre-European times. There are also 32 historic landmarks, commemorating historic themes since the landing of Vitus Bering on Alaskan shores in 1741. Altogether, these landmarks tell the story of roughly 11,000 years of Alaskan history.

Onion Portage Archeological District - Designated June 2, 1978

For thousands of years, vast numbers of caribou have passed through this area on their seasonal migrations between tundra and taiga. Drawn by these herds, hunters, both ancient and modern, have stationed themselves at the vantage point afforded by the site's location to await their coming. Within the archeological district is the deeply stratified Onion Portage site proper, where archeologists excavated nine cultural complexes, ranging from the Akmak Complex (ca. 8,000-6,500 BC) to the Arctic Woodland Eskimo (ca. 1000-1700 AD). The stratigraphic sequence found at Onion Portage established the model used by archeologists in establishing a cultural chronology for the region.

Last updated: August 9, 2016

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

PO Box 1029
Kotzebue, AK 99752


(907) 442-3890

Contact Us