National Park Service PARKitecture Banner

Transportation Systems
Information Centers
Hotels & Lodging
Support Facilities
Nisqually Entrance Gate (1911)

Secretary of the Interior Bollinger, visited Mount Rainier National Park in 1910 and requested a rustic gateway be constructed at this entrance. In 1911, four cedar-log columns, almost 4' in diameter, and three beams spanning the road were erected creating a pergola with a clearance of 18 1/2 feet.3 The logs are of the same proportions and character as the trees of the surrounding forest. It is an impressive entryway that highlights the unique setting of the park.

Links for Learning More

Drawing by Daniela Trettel and Todd A. Croteau, 1992, National Park Service, Historic American Engineering Record. [Library of Congress reproduction number: HAER, DLC/PP-95:WA-5 (HAER WA-35, sheet 1 of 2)]
Larger Image (258K)

Back to the Top
Gateways Series
Mt. Rainier Series

Featured Parks | Facility Types
Links for Learning More | Image Index
Credits | Footnotes | Links to the Past

ParkNet Logo