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Permits and Fees

Privately owned vessels must be registered each year
with Grand Teton National Park. Purchase permits at
the Craig Thomas, Jenny Lake and Colter Bay visitor
centers.

Park Permit Fees:
Motorized boat season $40
Motorized boat 7 day $20
Non-motorized boat season $20
Non-motorized boat 7day  $10
The permit sticker must be placed on the port (left)
side of the vessel, approximately one foot forward
of the stern (back). State registration for motorized
vessels is required prior to obtaining a park permit.

Motorized Boats

Motor boats are only allowed on Jackson and Jenny
lakes. On Jenny Lake, the use of motors exceeding
10 horsepower is prohibited, except by boating
concessioners.

Non-Motorized Boats
Human-powered vessels are permitted on Jackson,
Jenny, Phelps, Emma Matilda, Two Ocean, Taggart,

Bradley, Bearpaw, Leigh and String lakes, and on the
Snake River 1,000 feet below the Jackson Lake Dam.

Only human-powered rubber rafts, canoes, dories
and kayaks are allowed on the Snake River within the
park and parkway.

All other waters within the park and parkway are
closed to watercraft, including Pacific Creek, Buffalo
Fork, Cottonwood Creek and the Gros Ventre River.

Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS)

Wyoming state law requires an AIS sticker and boat
inspection prior to launching a vessel. Stickers may
be purchased on-line through WY Game and Fish or
at many fishing gear stores. Inflatable craft 10 feet or
less in length are exempt.

Wyoming AIS Fees:
Motorized, WY resident $10
Motorized, non-resident $30

Non-motorized, WY resident 85
Non-motorized, non-resident $15

Equipment

Required Equipment
All vessels must meet U.S. Coast Guard (USCG)
requirements including:

 Lifesaving Equipment
All vessels must carry a USCG approved personal
flotation device (PFD) of the appropriate size for
each person on board. PFDs must be accessible
and in good working condition. PFDs should be
worn while boating. All passengers under 13 years
old must wear a PFD whenever a vessel is
underway or be within an enclosed cabin.

 Lights
Every vessel must use navigation lights when
underway from sunset to sunrise.

 Fire Extinguisher
All motorboats must have at least the minimum
number of portable fire extinguishers required
by the USCG.

Signaling Devices
Motorboats must have an effective whistle or
air horn for signaling.

Suggested Equipment

Waste Receptacle

All vessels should have a waste receptacle aboard.
Dispose of trash in garbage cans or dumpsters.
Draining, dumping, or discharging wastes

or refuse, including human waste, into park or
parkway waters is prohibited.

Oars

All boats shorter than 16 feet should be equipped
with oars or paddles as a second means of
propulsion.

Bailing Bucket

All boats should carry a bailing bucket in addition
to bilge pumps and automatic bailers.

Prohibited Operations

All federal and state boating regulations apply.

 Operating jet skis on park waters.

 Operating while under the influence of alcohol or
drugs.

» Operating a vessel in excess of 5 mph or creating
a wake in areas designated “No wake; speed 5
mph”.

 Operating in a reckless or negligent manner, or in
a manner that is likely to endanger any other
person or property.

» Operating motorized craft within 100 feet of
other watercraft, for example, approaching
canoes closer than 100 feet.

 Operating while any person is riding on the
gunwales, transom or on the decking over the
bow while the vessel is underway.

 Operating a vessel that exceeds a noise level of 82

decibels measured at a distance of 82 feet.
Carrying passengers for hire or performing any
other commercial operation within the park or
parkway without Superintendent's authorization.
Operating within 500 feet of any designated
swimming area, except within marked channels,
where slow speed must be maintained.
Operating a vessel within 100 feet of a diver’s
marker, downed skier or swimmer.

Leaving any vessel unattended outside a
designated mooring or beaching areas for more
than 24 hours without prior written permission
from the Superintendent. Any vessel so left may
be impounded.

Overnight mooring or beaching of boats on the
shore of a designated harbor area, except in an
emergency.




Important Information

Be Bear Aware!

It all smells to a bear,
Please take care
Lock it up!

Food Storage
Required

Accidents

Report collisions, accidents, fires or other

incidents that results in property loss, property
damage, personal injury or death to a park ranger
immediately. Each operator of involved vessels must
report. This report does not relieve the responsibility
of reporting boating accidents as may be required by
the State and/or the U.S. Coast Guard. Any operator
involved in an accident must also provide in writing
his name, address and identification of his vessel

to any injured person and/or to the owner of any
damaged property.

Aquatic Invasive Species

Aquatic invasive species are an increasing concern.
Clean and dry boats, boots, and waders before
entering a new body of water - and never empty
containers of bait, fish, plants, or animals into park
waters. Help protect waterways and native species
by learning how to prevent the spread of exotics.
Wyoming requires the purchase of an Aquatic
Invasive Species sticker and requires a boat
inspection prior to launching your vessel.

Motorized Boat Launching

Vessels transported by vehicle must be launched

or removed from park waters at designated launch
areas: Leek’s Marina, Colter Bay, Signal Mountain,
Jenny Lake and Spalding Bay boat ramps. String Lake
boat launch is restricted to non-motorized boats.

Camping

Lakeshore camping is permitted at designated
numbered sites along Jackson and Leigh lakes.
Permits must be obtained at the Craig Thomas
Discovery and Visitor Center, Colter Bay Visitor
Center or Jenny Lake Ranger Station. Camping at
numbered lakeshore sites on Jackson Lake is limited
to 3 consecutive nights.

Inspections

A park ranger may, at any time, stop or board a vessel
to examine documents, licenses and permits relating
to operation of the vessel and to inspect the vessel

to determine compliance with boating and fishing
regulations.

Jet Skis & Personal Watercraft
Jet skis and personal watercraft are prohibited on all
park waters.

Minimum Age of Operation
Operators of motorized vessels must be at least 16

years of age or accompanied by an adult.

Pets

Pets are permitted for day use only within boats on
Jackson Lake. Overnight campers are not allowed to
have pets in lakeshore campsites except at Spalding
Bay. Pets are not allowed on the Snake River or on
shore away from designated launch areas on Jackson
Lake.

Permits for Fires

Fires are allowed only on Jackson Lake below the
high water line with a permit. Fires are not allowed
along the east shore from Spalding Bay to Lizard
Creek Campground. Obtain a permit from the
Colter Bay Visitor Center Permits Office. Extinguish
your fire before leaving.

Sailboats and Wind Surfers
Sailboats and windsurfers require all permits listed
on the front and may only be used on Jackson Lake.

Spalding Bay

Because of limited space, only single axle boat
trailers are allowed at Spalding Bay. Trailer parking
requires a special parking permit. Permits are
available on a first-come, first-served basis and can
be obtained 24 hours in advance from the permits
office at Craig Thomas Discovery and Visitor Center
or Colter Bay Visitor Center.

Swimming
Swimming from vessels underway, from docks and
inside marinas is prohibited.

Water Skiing

+ Towing skiers is allowed only from sunrise to
sunset.

« There must be at least 2 persons in the vessel with
the passenger in a position to observe the status of
the person or persons being towed.

« Skiers must wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved
flotation device.

« Water skiing is not allowed in channels or within
500 feet of harbors, swimming beaches or mooring
areas or within 100 feet of any person swimming
or diving.

Traps and Nets
Possessing, carrying and/or using traps or nets is
prohibited.

Boat Trailer Parking

. . Short-Term Parking Long-Term
Location Day Parking (3-night limit) Parking
Leek's upper parking lot upper parking lot none
Marina pper p g pper p 9
C_olter Bay \_/|IIage Colter Bay Visitor Center | near Colter Bay Cabin office
parking lot designated by . ) e .
Colter Bay . . parking lot (east side, for GTLC permit with slip or
striping and signed for designated area) moorin
boats & RVs 9 9
Sianal Base of Signal Mtn. Summit
g . boat ramp parking area mid-lot parking area Road, on the north side, with
Mountain - . .
Signal Mtn. mooring permit
. designated sites,
Spalding Bay parking permit required none none

These parking areas are for trailer use only. No vessel may remain on the trailer while parked in these locations.
Please park in designated areas only, illegally parked vehicles may be ticketed and/or towed.
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