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Wyoming Firearm Statutes 
 
6-8-102.  Use or possession of firearm by person convicted of certain felony offenses; 
penalties.  

 
Any person who has previously pleaded guilty to or been convicted of committing or 
attempting to commit a violent felony or a felony under W.S. 6-5-204(b), and has not been 
pardoned and who uses or knowingly possesses any firearm is guilty of a felony punishable 
by imprisonment for not more than three (3) years, a fine of not more than five thousand 
dollars ($5,000.00), or both. 
 
 
6-8-104.  Wearing or carrying concealed weapons; penalties; exceptions; permits. 

 
(a)  A person who wears or carries a concealed deadly weapon is guilty of a 

misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), 
imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months, or both, unless:  

 
(i)  The person is a peace officer;  
 
(ii)  The person possesses a permit under this section; or  
 
(iii)  The person holds a valid permit authorizing him to carry a concealed firearm 

authorized and issued by a governmental agency or entity in another state that recognizes 
Wyoming permits, is a valid statewide permit, and the state has laws similar to the provisions 
of this section, as determined by the attorney general, including a proper background check 
of the permit holder.  
 

(b)  The attorney general is authorized to issue permits to carry a concealed firearm to 
persons qualified as provided by this subsection. The attorney general shall promulgate rules 
necessary to carry out this section no later than October 1, 1994. Applications for a permit 
to carry a concealed firearm shall be made available and distributed by the division of 
criminal investigation and local law enforcement agencies. The permit shall be valid 
throughout the state for a period of five (5) years from the date of issuance. The permittee 
shall carry the permit, together with valid identification at all times when the permittee is 
carrying a concealed firearm and shall display both the permit and proper identification upon 
request of any peace officer. The attorney general through the division shall issue a permit to 
any person who:  

 
(i)  Is a resident of the United States and has been a resident of Wyoming for not 

less than six (6) months prior to filing the application. The Wyoming residency requirements 
of this paragraph do not apply to any person who holds a valid permit authorizing him to 
carry a concealed firearm authorized and issued by a governmental agency or entity in 
another state that recognizes Wyoming permits, is a valid statewide permit, and the state has 
laws similar to the provisions of this section, as determined by the attorney general, including 
a proper background check of the permit holder;  
 



  2 

(ii)  Is at least twenty-one (21) years of age;  
 
(iii)  Does not suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a 

firearm;  
 
(iv)  Is not ineligible to possess a firearm pursuant to 18 U.S.C. section 922(g) or 

W.S. 6-8-102;  
 
(v)  Has not been committed to a state or federal facility for the abuse of a 

controlled substance or convicted of a violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act 
of 1971, W.S. 35-7-1001 through 35-7-1057 or similar laws of any other state or the United 
States relating to controlled substances;  

 
(vi)  Does not chronically or habitually use alcoholic liquor and malt beverages to 

the extent that his normal faculties are impaired. It shall be presumed that an applicant 
chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages to the extent that his normal faculties are 
impaired if the applicant has been involuntarily committed to any residential facility pursuant 
to the laws of this state or similar laws of any other state as a result of the use of alcohol;  

 
(vii)  Demonstrates familiarity with a firearm. A legible photocopy of a certificate of 

completion of any of the courses or classes or a notarized affidavit from the instructor, 
school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught the course or class attesting to 
the completion of the course or class by the applicant or a copy of any document which 
shows completion of the course or class or evidences participation of firearms competition, 
shall constitute evidence of qualification under this paragraph. Any one (1) of the following 
activities listed in this paragraph shall be sufficient to demonstrate familiarity with a firearm:  

 
(A)  Completion of any certified firearm safety or training course utilizing 

instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the Wyoming law enforcement 
academy;  

 
(B)  Completion of any law enforcement firearms safety or training course or 

class offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division of law 
enforcement or security enforcement;  

 
(C)  Experience with a firearm through participation in an organized handgun 

shooting competition or military service;  
 
(D)  Completion of any firearms training or safety course or class conducted by 

a state certified or National Rifle Association certified firearms instructor;  
 
(E)  Be certified as proficient in firearms safety by any Wyoming law 

enforcement agency under procedures established by that agency; or  
 
(F)  Honorable retirement as a federal or state peace officer who has a minimum 

of ten (10) years of service.  
 

(viii)  Is not currently adjudicated to be legally incompetent; and  
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(ix)  Has not been committed to a mental institution.  
 

(c)  The division may deny a permit if the applicant has been found guilty of or has 
pled nolo contendere to one (1) or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor 
offense within the three (3) year period prior to the date on which the application is 
submitted or may revoke a permit if the permittee has been found guilty of or has pled nolo 
contendere to one (1) or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor offense within 
the preceding three (3) years.  

 
(d)  The application shall be completed, under oath, on a form promulgated by the 

attorney general to include:  
 

(i)  The name, address, place and date of birth of the applicant;  
 
(ii)  A statement that, to the best of his knowledge, the applicant is in compliance 

with criteria contained within this section;  
 
(iii)  A statement that the applicant has been furnished a copy of this section and is 

knowledgeable of its provisions;  
 
(iv)  A conspicuous warning that the application is executed under oath and that a 

materially false answer to any question or the submission of any materially false document by 
the applicant may result in denial or revocation of a permit and subjects the applicant to 
criminal prosecution under W.S. 6-5-303.  

 
(e)  The applicant shall submit to the division through the sheriff's office in the county 

of the applicant's residence:  
 

(i)  A completed application as described in subsection (d) of this section;  
 
(ii)  A nonrefundable permit fee of fifty dollars ($50.00), if he has not previously 

been issued a statewide permit, or a nonrefundable permit fee of fifty dollars ($50.00) for 
renewal of a permit;  

 
(iii)  A full set of fingerprints of the applicant administered by a law enforcement 

agency.  The actual cost of processing the set of fingerprints required in this paragraph shall 
be borne by the applicant;  

 
(iv)  A photocopy of a certificate or an affidavit or document as provided by 

paragraph (b)(vii) of this section.  
 

(f)  The sheriff's office shall forward items received under subsection (e) of this 
section but shall retain ten dollars ($10.00) of each original permit fee and five dollars ($5.00) 
of each renewal permit fee. The division, upon receipt of the items listed in subsection (e) of 
this section, shall process the full set of fingerprints of the applicant for any criminal justice 
information. The division shall submit a fingerprint card to the federal bureau of 
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investigation for a national background check. The cost of processing the fingerprints shall 
be payable to the division. 
 

(g)  The sheriff of the applicant's county of residence shall submit a written report to 
the division containing any information that he feels may be pertinent to the issuance of a 
permit to any applicant.  The written report shall state facts known to the sheriff which 
establish reasonable grounds to believe that the applicant has been or is reasonably likely to 
be a danger  to himself or others, or to the community at large as a result of the applicant's 
mental or psychological state, as demonstrated by a past pattern or practice of behavior, or 
participation in incidents involving a controlled substance, alcohol abuse, violence or threats 
of violence as these incidents relate to criteria listed in this section. The written report shall 
be made within thirty (30) days after the date the sheriff receives the copy of the application.  
The sheriff of the applicant's county of residence shall notify the chief of police, if any, of 
the applicant's place of residence of the application for a concealed firearm  permit by the 
applicant. The chief of police shall submit written comments to the division under the 
guidelines prescribed in this section.  Submitted comments shall not be considered a public 
record.  

 
(h)  The sheriff of the applicant's county of residence may, at his discretion, submit a 

written report to the division recommending immediate issuance of a concealed firearm 
permit prior to the mandatory fingerprint processing.  The written recommendation shall 
specifically state that the sheriff has personal knowledge that the applicant is qualified to be 
issued a permit.  

 
(j)  The sheriff of the applicant's county of residence may, at his discretion, submit a 

written report to the division recommending the issuance of a concealed firearm permit to 
an applicant between eighteen (18) and twenty-one (21) years of age who meets the 
requirements specified in this section.  The written recommendation shall specifically state 
that the sheriff has personal knowledge of the applicant's situation or circumstances which 
warrant the issuance of a concealed firearm permit.  The division may issue a permit to carry 
a concealed firearm to those individuals between eighteen (18) and twenty-one (21) years of 
age under circumstances that a reasonable, prudent person would believe warrant the 
issuance of a permit to carry a concealed firearm.  The decision to issue a concealed firearm 
permit shall be based on the satisfactory completion of the requirements of this section and 
any voluntary written report offered by the sheriff of the county of the applicant's residence 
which shall clearly state the reasons the applicant should be issued a permit.  The applicant 
may submit a written report containing relevant facts for consideration by the division.  

 
(k)  An applicant shall pay the cost of fingerprinting services for one (1) set of 

fingerprints and shall not be charged for any additional services necessary to obtain a legible 
set of fingerprints.  

 
(m)  The division shall, within sixty (60) days after the date of receipt of the items 

listed in subsection (e) of this section, either:  
 

(i)  Issue the permit; or  
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(ii)  Deny the application based on the ground that the applicant fails to qualify 
under the criteria listed in this section or upon reasonable grounds for denial specified under 
subsection (g) of this section. If the division denies the application, it shall notify the 
applicant in writing, stating the grounds for denial and informing the applicant of a right to 
submit, within thirty (30) days, any additional documentation relating to the grounds of 
denial. Upon receiving any additional documentation, the division  shall reconsider its 
decision and inform the applicant within twenty (20) days of the result of the 
reconsideration. The applicant shall further be informed of the right to seek review of the 
denial in the district court pursuant to the Wyoming Administrative Procedure Act, W.S. 
16-3-101 through 16-3-115. No person who is denied a permit under this section shall carry 
a concealed firearm under a permit issued in another state, so long as he remains a resident 
of this state, and he remains ineligible for a permit in this state. 
 

(n)  The division shall maintain an automated listing of permit holders and pertinent 
information, and the information shall be available on-line, upon request, at all times to all 
Wyoming law enforcement agencies.  

 
(o)  Within thirty (30) days after the changing of a permanent address, or within thirty 

(30) days after the loss or destruction of a permit, the permittee, including any permittee 
under paragraph (a)(iii) of this section, shall so notify the division.  Violation of this 
subsection may result in cancellation or revocation of the permit.  

 
(p)  In the event that a permit is lost or destroyed, the permit shall be automatically 

invalid, and the person to whom the same was issued may, upon payment of a five dollar 
($5.00) fee to the division, obtain a duplicate, upon furnishing a notarized statement to the 
division that the permit has been lost or destroyed.  

 
(q)  A permit issued under this section shall be revoked by the division:  
 

(i)  If the permittee becomes ineligible to be issued a permit under the criteria set 
forth in this section; or  

 
(ii)  For any conviction of any offense involving a controlled substance, alcohol 

abuse while carrying a concealed weapon or any crime of violence or a plea of nolo 
contendere to any of these crimes.  

 
(r)  Repealed by Laws 1995, ch. 147, § 1.  
 
(s)  The permittee may renew his permit on or before the expiration date by filing with 

the sheriff of the applicant's county of residence the renewal form, a notarized affidavit 
stating that the permittee remains qualified pursuant to the criteria specified in this section, 
and the required renewal fee. The permit shall be renewed to a qualified applicant upon 
receipt of the completed renewal application, appropriate payment of fees and the division 
shall verify that the criminal history information available to the division does not indicate 
that possession of a firearm by the applicant would constitute a violation of state or federal 
law. A permittee who fails to file a renewal application on or before its expiration date shall 
renew his permit by paying a late fee of ten dollars ($10.00). No permit shall be renewed six 
(6) months or more after its expiration date, and the permit shall be deemed to be 
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permanently expired. A person whose permit has permanently expired may reapply for a 
permit pursuant to subsections (b) through (e) of this section.  

 
(t)  No permit issued pursuant to this section or any permit issued from any other 

state shall authorize any person to carry a concealed firearm into:  
 

(i)  Any facility used primarily for law enforcement operations or administration 
without the written consent of the chief administrator;  

 
(ii)  Any detention facility, prison or jail;  
 
(iii)  Any courtroom, except that nothing in this section shall preclude a judge from 

carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in the 
courtroom;  

 
(iv)  Any meeting of a governmental entity;  
 
(v)  Any meeting of the legislature or a committee thereof;  
 
(vi)  Any school, college or professional athletic event not related to firearms;  
 
(vii)  Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic liquor and malt 

beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily 
devoted to that purpose;  

 
(viii)  Any place where persons are assembled for public worship, without the 

written consent of the chief administrator of that place;  
 
(ix)  Any elementary or secondary school facility;  
 
(x)  Any college or university facility without the written consent of the security 

service of the college or university; or  
 
(xi)  Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or 

regulation or state law. 
 

(u)  All monies collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the general 
fund.  

 
(w)  All funds received by the sheriff pursuant to the provisions of this section shall be 

deposited into the general fund of the county.  
 
(y)  As used in this section:  
 

(i)  "Division" means the division of criminal investigation within the office of the 
attorney general;  
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(ii)  "Firearm" means any pistol, revolver or derringer, designed to be fired by the 
use of a single hand.  

 
(z)  By March 1 of each year, the division shall submit a statistical report to the 

governor and to the joint judiciary interim committee indicating the number of permits 
issued, revoked, suspended and denied. 

 
(aa)  Notwithstanding the provisions of W.S. 1-39-105 through 1-39-112, the attorney 

general and members of the division of criminal investigation are immune from personal 
liability for issuing, for failing to issue and for revoking any concealed firearms permit under 
this section.  A sheriff, police chief, employee of a sheriff or police chief's office shall not be 
personally liable for damages in a civil action arising from any information submitted 
pursuant to subsections (g) through (j) of this section.  Nothing in this section shall relieve 
any governmental entity of any liability pursuant to W.S. 1-39-101 through 1-39-120.   

 
(bb)  No list or other record maintained by the division or other law enforcement 

agency pursuant to this section, which identifies an individual applicant or permittee shall be 
considered a public record. Applications, listings and other records maintained pursuant to 
this section which identify an individual shall be made available to other law enforcement 
agencies for purposes of conducting official business. The statistical report provided 
pursuant to subsection (z) of this section shall be a public record. 
 
 

 
 
 
 

6-8-203.  Firearms information to be kept in place of business; inspection by peace 
officer.  

 
The information required by federal law to be maintained on firearms shall be kept by every 
wholesaler, retailer, pawnbroker and dealer in firearms in the place of business of the 
wholesaler, retailer, pawnbroker or dealer, and shall be subject to inspection by any peace 
officer at all reasonable times. 
 
 
6-8-204.  Repealed By Laws 1997, ch. 21, § 2. 
 
 
6-8-401.  Firearm, weapon and ammunition regulation and prohibition by state. 

 
(a)  The sale, transfer, purchase, delivery, taxation, manufacture, ownership, 

transportation, storage, use and possession of firearms, weapons and ammunition shall be 
authorized, regulated and prohibited by the state, and regulation thereof is preempted by the 
state. Except as authorized by W.S. 15-1-103(a)(xviii), no city, town or county shall 
authorize, regulate or prohibit the sale, transfer, purchase, delivery, taxation, manufacture, 
ownership, transportation, storage, use or possession of firearms, weapons and ammunition 
except as specifically provided by this chapter. This section shall not affect zoning or other 
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ordinances which encompass firearms businesses along with other businesses. Zoning and 
other ordinances which are designed for the purpose of restricting or prohibiting the sale, 
purchase, transfer or manufacture of firearms or ammunition as a method of regulating 
firearms or ammunition are in conflict with this section and are prohibited.  

 
(b)  As used in this article, "firearm" means any weapon which will or is designed to 

expel any projectile by the action of an explosive. 
 


