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LAUNCH CERTIFICATION PACKET
Your vessel is required to be certified mussel-free prior to launching in Lake 
Powell. 

HERE’S HOW TO CERTIFY:
1. Look through and answer the questions on the 
    other side of this page.

2. (A) If your answers to the questions tell you to get your boat  
          professionally inspected before launching in Lake Powell, you must  
          do so. Call 928-608-6305 to reach an on-call inspector.
    (B) If your answers to the questions indicate you are ready to launch,  
          just complete the self certification statement on page 4 of this 
          packet. 

3. Be sure to visibly display your MUSSEL FREE certificate through the 
    windshield of your tow vehicle while parked within the recreation area. 
    You must re-certify your vessel with each new visit to Lake Powell.

Violators are punishable by up to six months in jail, a $5000 fine, and a 
mandatory court appearance. 

WHAT’S THE THREAT? 
Zebra and quagga mussels will disrupt the food chain causing a decline in recreational 
fishing, foul facilities like docks and ramps, encrust boats and clog engines, and litter 
beaches with sharp smelly shells.

WHAT CAN I DO TO ENSURE I’M NOT PART OF THE PROBLEM? 
Zebra and quagga mussels can be spread by your boat, but they cannot live out of water 
for long periods of time. Simply washing your boat and equipment and allowing them 
to fully dry is an effective way to reduce the risk of spreading these aquatic hitchhikers. 
CLEAN, DRAIN, DRY your boat every time you leave a body of water.

If you have any questions, check with a park ranger or call 928-608-6305.

 
(OVER) 



Has your boat been in other waters in any of the following states  
or Canadian provinces in the last 30 days? 

 

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, 
Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, 

Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, 
Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, 

Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North 
Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, 

Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, 
Wisconsin, Ontario, Quebec 

YES 

Was your boat and trailer thoroughly 
washed and allowed to completely 
dry for at least 5 days since you last 
launched?  You must have removed 
all dirt, plant and animal material, or 
grit from the boat.  You must have 

drained and flushed all live wells and 
bilge areas.  The boat must be 

allowed to dry for at least 5 days. 
 
 

YES 

NO 

NO 

At Glen Canyon National 
Recreation Area,  
IT’S THE LAW,  

 
But you should apply this 

simple screening every time you 
use your boat to protect all 

your favorite waters! 
 

You are required to get a 
professional inspection.  Violations 
are punishable by up to six months in jail 

and a $5,000.00 fine. 
 Inspection locations are on page 3 

of this packet.  

Mussel Free States 
Mussel Infested States 

 

 
Quagga and Zebra Mussel-Free Certification 

Save Time and Self-Certify! 
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You are ready to launch!  
Sign the certificate on page 4 
and display it through your 

windshield at all times while 
your vehicle and boat trailer 

are in Glen Canyon. 
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Mussel Inspection Stations in Glen Canyon

Bullfrog Inspection Station is located across the road from the Sinclair 
gas station approximately one mile southwest of the Entrance Station.

At Hall’s Crossing, check in at the Marina Office on the docks or 
dial 928-608-6305 to reach an on-call inspector. An inspector will be 
dispatched to you.

Antelope Point Inspection Station is located in the Antelope Point 
Marina Maintenance Dry Storage Yard. Check in at the Entrance Station 
or Dry Storage Office.

For Hite, check in at the Ranger Station or dial 928-608-6305 to reach the 
on-call inspector.

If the flow chart on page 2 of this packet shows that your vessels present a 
risk to Lake Powell, they must be inspected prior to launch.

Violators face a mandatory court appearance, $5000 fine, 
and up to six months in jail.

The Wahweap Inspection Station is located behind the Sinclair gas 
station.

Park Rangers that conduct inspections have a big job. They are not always 
immediately available at the Inspection Stations. Hours for inspections and 
launching vary by location and season. Please dial 928-608-6305 for inspection 
and vessel certification attention. A Park Ranger will be dispatched to you.
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Invasive Mussel 
Prevention Program

This Certificate Must Be Visibly Displayed On Your Dashboard

MUSSEL FREE
Failure to display this certificate through the windshield of your 
tow vehicle could result in a mandatory court appearance, up to six 
months in jail and a $5000 fine.

Zebra and Quagga Mussels Pose A Major Threat to Lake Powell!

Mussels in Lake Powell could:
•	 Disrupt the food chain and fishing
•	 Foul facilities like docks and ramps
•	 Encrust boats and clog engines
•	 Litter beaches with sharp smelly shells

I affirm that my vessels do not threaten Lake Powell with quagga or zebra mussels.

Please check one:         Boat not used in last 30 days in infested area
				     Boat washed and allowed to completely dry for at least five days

Signature:									        Date:

Thank you for protecting Glen Canyon National Recreation Area!

This certificate is not valid at Wahweap, Stateline, 
Antelope Point, Halls Crossing, and Bullfrog
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