Bears in Glacier: Learn about Glacier's Most Famous Residents

Grizzly bear looks to its right while strolling over ground with patchy snow
Do you know how grizzly bears differ from black bears?

NPS/Kimberly Shields


Glacier National Park is home to a healthy population of both grizzly bears and black bears. In this program, students will learn about bears and their natural history, as well as current research being conducted on bear populations in Glacier National Park. The education staff at Glacier can visit your classroom for free via the internet. Using a Polycom videoconferencing connection, Glacier becomes just a click away. Once connected, our staff will spend about 60 minutes teaching your class. Please contact the Glacier education team if you have questions about other videoconferencing platforms.

Program Length

Video conference runs ~ 60 minutes.

How to Participate

To register for a program, please email us.

Our free, interactive presentations are available from November through April (with breaks around some major holidays).

Note: Please be aware that Glacier National Park is in the Central Mountain Time Zone (CMT) and follows daylight savings time changes. Programs cannot start any earlier than 8 am. in the CMT, which means programs for schools in Eastern Time cannot start before 10 am, Central Time 9 am, Mountain Time 8 am, and Pacific Time 7 am.

Connection Guide (1.8 MB pdf)

Last updated: February 22, 2018

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

PO Box 128
West Glacier, MT 59936


(406) 888-7800

Contact Us