Ask A Ranger: Living and Working in Glacier National Park

Three rangers looking pleased and leaning on shovels on walkway cleared of snow
Teamwork inside and outside the classroom



Park Rangers have a wealth of knowledge about Glacier National Park, living in rural Montana, and more. Tap into these stores of knowledge through a short presentation followed by an informal question and answer session that is available to groups of all ages. Topics can cover the flora, fauna, glaciers, geology, biology, and cultural history of Glacier, as well as careers in the National Park Service. The education staff at Glacier can visit your classroom for free via the internet. Using a Polycom videoconferencing connection, Glacier becomes just a click away. Once connected, our staff will spend about 60 minutes teaching your class. Please contact the Glacier education team if you have questions about other videoconferencing platforms.

Program Length

Video conference runs ~ 60 minutes.

How to Participate

To register for a program, please email us.

Our free, interactive presentations are available from November through April (with breaks around some major holidays).

Note: Please be aware that Glacier National Park is in the Central Mountain Time Zone (CMT) and follows daylight savings time changes. Programs cannot start any earlier than 8 am. in the CMT, which means programs for schools in Eastern Time cannot start before 10 am, Central Time 9 am, Mountain Time 8 am, and Pacific Time 7 am.

Connection Guide (1.8 MB pdf)

Last updated: February 22, 2018

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

PO Box 128
West Glacier, MT 59936


(406) 888-7800

Contact Us