Navigation banner with NPS arrowhead



Old Faithful
Area Tour

List of

South Section
Interactive Map

North Section
Interactive Map

Lion Group of Geysers

Lion has the largest cone and eruptions of the Lion Group, which indludes Lioness, Big Cub and Little Cub.
Big Cub Geyser

The Lion Group consists of four geysers: Lion, Lioness, Big Cub, and Little Cub, which are all connected underground. Of these Lion has the largest cone and eruptions. Active phases normally occur each day. Eruptions of Lion Geyser last 1 - 7 minutes and are often preceded by sudden gushes of steam and a deep roaring sound, hence the name Lion.

Old Faithful Area Tour
Previous Stop | Next Stop