United States Mint Releases Designs for 2011 America the Beautiful Quarters® Program Coins

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: December 3, 2010
Contact: Lauren Gurniewicz, 580-622-7282

WASHINGTON - The United States Mint announced yesterday the designs for the second set of coins in its America the Beautiful Quarters Program. The 2011 quarters will bear reverse (tails side) designs honoring Gettysburg National Military Park (Pennsylvania); Glacier National Park (Montana); Olympic National Park (Washington); Vicksburg National Military Park (Mississippi); and Chickasaw National Recreation Area (Oklahoma).

The Chickasaw National Recreation Area quarter design depicts the Lincoln Bridge, built of limestone and dedicated in 1909 to celebrate the centennial of Abraham Lincoln's birth. The bridge was the first constructed improvement in the national recreation area and a favorite scenic spot. Inscriptions are CHICKASAW, OKLAHOMA, 2011 and E PLURIBUS UNUM. The reverse was designed by AIP Master Designer Donna Weaver and sculpted by United States Mint Sculptor-Engraver Jim Licaretz.

“Those of us at Chickasaw National Recreation Area are extremely pleased with the cooperation received from the United States Mint in finalizing the design of this coin,” commented park Superintendent Bruce Noble. “We believe this America the Beautiful Quarter does a great job of highlighting the shared history between the park and the Chickasaw Nation. We are also excited about the nationwide attention that this coin will bring to this park and the surrounding area.”

Each coin in the America the Beautiful Quarters Program features a common obverse (heads side) with the 1932 portrait of George Washington by John Flanagan, restored to bring out subtle details and the beauty of the original model. Inscriptions on the obverse are UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, LIBERTY, IN GOD WE TRUST and QUARTER DOLLAR.

The United States Mint America the Beautiful Quarters Program is a multi-year initiative authorized by the America's Beautiful National Parks Quarter Dollar Coin Act of 2008 (Act) (Public Law 110-456). The Act directs the United States Mint to mint and issue 56 circulating quarter-dollar coins with reverse designs emblematic of a national park or other national site in each state, the District of Columbia and the five U.S. territories-the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the United States Virgin Islands and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The quarters are being released in the order in which the featured site was first established as a national park or site. The designs will rotate five times each year through 2020, with the final coin being released in 2021.

The United States Mint issued the first five coins in the program this year, with reverse designs honoring the Hot Springs National Park (Arkansas), Yellowstone National Park (Wyoming), Yosemite National Park (California), Grand Canyon National Park (Arizona) and Mount Hood National Forest (Oregon).

Digital images of the 2011 America the Beautiful Quarters are available at http://www.usmint.gov/pressroom/?action=Photo#AmericaTheBeautiful. For additional information about the America the Beautiful Quarters Program, please visit:

The United States Mint, created by Congress in 1792, is the Nation's sole manufacturer of legal tender coinage and is responsible for producing an adequate volume of circulating coinage for the Nation to conduct its trade and commerce. The United States Mint also produces proof, uncirculated and commemorative coins; Congressional Gold Medals; and silver, gold and platinum bullion coins.


Last updated: February 24, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

901 W. 1st Street
Sulphur, OK 73086


(580) 622-7234

Contact Us