National Park Service Big Cypress 33100 Tamiami Trail East
U.S. Department of the Interior National Preserve Ochopee, Florida 34141

239-695-1107 phone
239-695-3901 fax

Big Cypress Off-Road Vehicle Permit Guidelines

It is a 3-Step Process to obtain an off-road vehicle permit for use of an ATV, airboat, swamp buggy or
street-legal 4x4, in Big Cypress National Preserve: 1) an operator permit (free), 2) an inspection sticker
(free), and 3) an annual vehicle permit (fees apply) are required. Motorcycles and other two-wheeled
motorized vehicles are not permitted in the national preserve backcountry.

The Off-Road Vehicle Permitting Office is located at the Big Cypress National Preserve QOasis Visitor
Center. Contact the office at 239-695-1205 for details and hours.

EXPLANATIONS

1) Operator Permit

In order to get a permit, you must come to the Big Cypress Visitor Center at Oasis, located halfway
between Naples and Miami on US-41 (Tamiami Trail). Bring your valid state driver’s license or learner’s
permit (required). Note — Those who have a learner’s permit must be accompanied by a licensed adult
18 years or older (while operating an off-road vehicle) who also possess a Big Cypress National Preserve
off-road vehicle operator permit. Unlicensed drivers are not permitted to operate off-road vehicles at Big
Cypress National Preserve.

Upon completion of the online Off-Road Vehicle Operator Course your photo will be taken. Off-road
vehicle staff will produce an operator permit card after you have successfully completed the online
course and presented the certificate of completion. You are required to carry the operator permit with
you whenever you are operating an off-road vehicle within the national preserve.

It is extremely important that you provide the staff with current address, telephone and email (if
available) information so that we may send you mail with important updates on trails, regulations, and
off-road vehicle-related news.

This part of the permit process will take approximately 45 minutes.

2) Vehicle Inspection Sticker

Bring your vehicle in to the visitor center call ahead to the Off-Road Vehicle Office to verify best days
and times to do so. The inspection sticker is valid for three years, at which time, the vehicle will need a
reinspection.

Off-road vehicle staff will inspect your vehicle under the following guidelines:



OFF-ROAD VEHICLE REQUIREMENTS
ATV FOUR-WHEELERS (C)

VIN#

Muffler

PROOF OF TITLE

Working red tail light

Working white headlight

Rear tires nine inches minimum
Front tires seven inches minimum

AIRBOAT (A)

Width eight foot maximum
Current state registration decal

Working white aft light to be seen 360 degrees

Must have an automotive-style factory muffler
per Florida Statute 327.391

Minimum of three inches, FL numbers displayed

on each side of the bow
Hull length 14 feet maximum including grass
rake

Fire extinguisher

Hull identification number

Personal floatation device (life jackets)
Minimum of six inches, FL numbers displayed
on both sides of rudders

Orange safety flag 10x12" or larger- flown at
minimum 10 feet above vessel

Port and starboard lights (US Coast Guard
requirement)

SWAMP BUGGY (B)

Muffler

Four-wheel-drive

Title (for UTVs only)

Working red tail light

Working white headlights
Width eight foot maximum
Weight (weighed at inspection)
All tires minimum of nine inches

STREET LEGAL 4X4 (D)

e VIN#

e Muffler

e Four-wheel-drive

e \Working red tail lights

e \Working white headlights

e Tires minimum of nine inches

e \Weight (weighed at inspection)

e Current registration and insurance

3) Annual Vehicle Permit

Once you have obtained an operator permit

and your vehicle has passed the inspection, and
received an inspection sticker, you may then
purchase the annual off-road vehicle permit (fees

apply).

These permits are valid from January 1 of each
year to January 31, of the following year - a
13-month period, however, they are NOT prorated
from the date of purchase. This means that
whatever your date of purchase is, the permit will
still expire on January 31, and therefore, it is more
economical to purchase it early in the year. Permits
go on sale mid-December of each year. A total of
2,000 permits are available each year.

All permit sales are on a first-come, first-served
basis at this time. However, a drawing system
may be used if demand approaches the 2,000
permit limit. Permits are not transferable between
vehicles.

It is strongly advised that you call the Off-Road
Vehicle Office at 239-695-1205 before you bring
your vehicle in. We may be able to save you time
and extra trips with a brief conversation before
your visit.
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Measuring Tire Tread Width
Measure tread widih from edge to edge along foce

|M=uml-lm1 Measure Here

Tread Face — That portion of the ouser surface of the tire that actoally makes contact with the trail sabstrate during normal oee,
This inchudes those portions of trend which extend onto the sides of the tire since they are designed as such to aid in comering
and in soft ground are load bearing.

Meammrement of Treas Face — Trend Face will be mensured wsing a flexible tape measure capable of conforming to 3 rounded

surface. The measorement will be from one edge of the tread face to the other, along the flat or rounded tread sorface of e tire
as viewed in cToes — section.
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