National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Bridges of Delaware Township, Hunterdon County, New Jersey MPS
Reference Number MC64501271
State NJ
Street Address
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status accepted 10/04/2016
Areas of Significance
Link to full file
Two types of roadway bridges are associated with this nomination: stone arch bridges and metal (cast or wrought iron or steel) truss bridges. Although Hunterdon County and Delaware Township contain historically significant railroad bridges, the context for their evaluation differs from from those of road or highway bridges, and is not presented in this nomination. [The structure inventories used by engineers and transportation agencies classify structures with a clear span between abutments less than twenty (20) feet as "culverts" and structures with a clear span 20 feet or larger as "bridges." For ease of understanding, however, all structures, regardless of length, whether using trusses or stringers or arches, are called bridges in this Multiple Property Documentation Form (MPDF).]

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria