National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name Saul, B.F., Building
Reference Number 16000685
State DC
County District of Columbia
Town Washington
Street Address 925 15th St., NW.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 10/4/2016
Link to full file
The B.F. Saul Building, constructed in 1924 at 925 15th Street NW, is a five-story, Classical Revival-style building designed by notable local architect George N. Ray for the B.F. Saul Company, a major local real estate firm as a combination bank/office building. The building abuts the 1917 Davidson Building on its north and the 1924 Colonial Mortgage Building on its south, and is one of a collection of early 20th-century office buildings that surround McPherson Square. This collection of buildings represents the transition of the square from residential to offices, as well as the growth of the city's financial district from south of I Street to north of McPherson Square. During the 19th century, banks and offices related to the city's financial interests were centered on lower 15th Street across from and north of the Treasury Building and around 14th and G Streets. By the early 20th century, however, the development of office buildings associated with the city's financial markets began to push north to McPherson Square and in the process completely transformed what had been a wealthy residential neighborhood of 19th-century residences into a commercial/office building area.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria