National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Property Name McDonogh 19 Elementary School
Reference Number 16000672
State LA
County Orleans
Town New Orleans
Street Address 5909 St. Claude Ave.
Multiple Property Submission Name N/A
Status Listed 9/22/2016
Areas of Significance Education, Ethnic Heritage: Black, Social History
Link to full file
McDonogh 19 Elementary School is nationally significant under Criterion A in the areas of education, ethnic heritage: black, and social history for the role it played in desegregating New Orleans' public schools in the wake of Brown v. Board of Education. Under the "Racial Desegregation in Public Education in the US" Theme Study, written in 2000, schools like McDonogh are defined as "properties associated with conflict or confrontation." McDonogh and William Frantz Elementary (listed on National Register in 2005) were the first two public schools in the city that admitted African American children in the fall of 1960. The three young girls at McDonogh became known as the McDonogh 3 and along with Ruby Bridges at Frantz, these young girls were integral to desegregating the public schools of New Orleans and soon found themselves on national news. The period of significance for the school is 1960-61, the year that the school was integrated.

Any Associated Files


Weekly List Search Page

Properties are listed in the National Register of Historic Places under four criteria: A, B, C, and D. For information on what these criterion are and how they are applied, please see our Bulletin on How to Apply the National Register Criteria