Compass icon. This link bypasses navigation taking you directly to the contents of this page.

Historical Context

Map 2




Table of

Locating the Site

Map 1: Civil War America: A Divided Nation.

[Map 1] with link to larger version of map.
(Courtesy of Cultural Resources, Inc.)

Delegates from South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, and Louisiana met in Montgomery, Alabama on February 4, 1861 to establish the Confederate States of America. Texas joined the other states in March. Following the battle for Fort Sumter in April, four additional states – Virginia, Arkansas, North Carolina, and Tennessee – joined the Confederacy. With Virginia’s seccession, Richmond replaced Montgomery as the capital of the Confederacy until Danville, Virginia became the third and final Confederate capital from April 3-10, 1865.

Questions for Map 1

1. Which States and Territories of the United States made up the Union during the Civil War? Which States made up the Confederate States?

2. Where was the U.S. capital during the Civil War? How might the location of the U.S. capital in 1861-1865 been a problem?

3. Which city served as the Confederate capital for the longest period? Find that city on the map. What might be some advantages and disadvantages of that location during the war?

Click for a larger version of Map 1



Comments or Questions

National Park Service arrowhead with link to NPS website.