National Park Service U.S. Department of the Interior

National Register of Historic Places Program: Guidance

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.


Publications: (National Register bulletins, brochures, regulations, other publications)

National Register Forms (10-900, 10-900a, 10-900b)

Sample Nominations (read good examples of various property types)

National Register Review Checklists: items we look for when we review each nomination.
Technical Review Checklist / Substantive Checklist

Books and videos (created by the National Register)

Policy Clarifications and additional guidance (white papers, workshops, clarifications)