Community Resources

Structure fire training

Yosemite structural firefighters break a window to vent a house during a training in March, 2009.

Fire Preparedness and Prevention

There are six Wildland Urban Interface (WUI) communities in Yosemite National Park: Foresta, Hodgdon Meadow, Yosemite West, Yosemite Valley, El Portal, and Wawona.

Yosemite Fire provides structure protection in each of these communities and throughout the park.

Community Wildfire Protection Plans

Foresta Yosemite West

The reduction of hazardous amounts of wildland fuels in, and adjacent to, these communities is a central focus of the fire management program.

Each year, Yosemite's Fire Marshal and Fire Prevention Specialists perform inspections on properties in Yosemite National Park. Please refer to the guidelines below for information on property clearance standards and to view a blank inspection form.

Clearance standards

Inspection form

Community Emergency Preparedness Plans

Did You Know?