• Wind Cave National Park - Two Worlds

    Wind Cave

    National Park South Dakota

Abstract - Lichen Collection

Decker, L.J. 1972. Lichen Collection.


The collection is contained in 2 grey boxes in the herbarium cabinet. The lichens have been classified and divided into these five categories: 1. Fruticose - lichens which are shrub-like or somewhat woody 2. Squamulose - lichens which are scaly 3. Umbilicate - lichens shaped or depressed like an umbilicus or navel 4. Foliose - species covered with leaves; leafy 5. Crustose - lichens which have a hard and brittle texture; those pressed closely to a rocky surface.

Did You Know?

fire on the prairie

Fire is an important factor in protecting the prairie. Historically, fires burned across the prairie every 4 to 7 years. Fires burn the small trees that would otherwise march across the prairie and turn the grasslands to forest.