National Park Service
NPS Learning & Development image
Learning & Development

Employee Development Officers (EDOs)
  • Home
  • L&D Training Programs
  • Training Resources
  • Site Map
  • Employee Development Officers (EDOs)
    All Regions have someone serving as an Employee Development Officer (EDO) at least in a collateral duty capacity. While each Region may assign some unique duties to their EDO, there is a core set of work that most EDO’s perform. This includes:
    • Advising managers on how to effectively address challenges through training-related solutions.
    • Scheduling training to meet Region-wide training needs in a variety of areas (i.e., supervisory training, COR/ATR training, IDP training, etc.).
    • Helping employees and parks locate necessary training and helping them access training-related resources.
    • Assisting employees with career planning and IDP preparation.
    • Answering policy-related questions on training and advising parks on how to find and pay for training.
    • To the extent possible, inputting training into DOI Learn, assisting customers in the use of DOI Learn, pulling reports out of the system and tracking mandatory training.
    • Teaching classes and running programs that further Regional goals, such as Phase II Supervisory Training, Mentoring Programs, etc.
    • Maintaining a Training Calendar.
    • Assisting WASO L&D with programs like the New Supervisor Development Program and New Division Chief Leadership Development Program. This includes identifying Regional candidates to participate in these programs, explaining the requirements of the programs to the target audience, and answering questions on the programs.

    Alaska Region
    John Bryant
    john_bryant@nps.gov 907-644-3337

    Intermountain Region
    Colleen Osborne
    colleen_osborne@nps.gov 303-969-2542

    Midwest Region
    Melissa Heiser
    melissa_heiser@nps.gov 402-661-1652

    National Capital Region
    Erin Noojibail
    erin_noojibail@nps.gov 202-578-9118

    Northeast Region
    Lisa Sullivan (Acting)
    lisa_sullivan@nps.gov 304-876-7677

    Pacific West Region
    Karin Nichols
    karin_nichols@nps.gov 206-220-4066

    Southeast Region
    Kimberlee Suber
    kimberlee_suber@nps.gov 404-507-5769

    WASO
    Brigitte Keels
    brigitte_keels@nps.gov 202-354-1406

    EXPERIENCE YOUR AMERICA™