• The setting sun over the Flint Hills casts shadows across the wide expanse of tallgrass prairie.

    Tallgrass Prairie

    National Preserve Kansas

There are park alerts in effect.
show Alerts »
  • Reminder, Bison Are Wild Animals

    Windmill Pasture is home to the bison herd. They have been quite active in recent weeks. Please stay on the trails and use caution in their vicinity. Do not come in close contact with the bison. Allow at least 100 yards between you and the herd. More »

Schedule Of Events

Search for Events

Events Upcoming for August

Showing 29 results

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, August 4, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Tuesday, August 5, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Wednesday, August 6, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Thursday, August 7, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Friday, August 8, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Saturday, August 9, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Sunday, August 10, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, August 11, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Tuesday, August 12, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Wednesday, August 13, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Thursday, August 14, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Friday, August 15, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Saturday, August 16, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Sunday, August 17, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, August 18, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Tuesday, August 19, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Wednesday, August 20, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Thursday, August 21, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Friday, August 22, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Saturday, August 23, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Sunday, August 24, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, August 25, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Tuesday, August 26, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Wednesday, August 27, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Thursday, August 28, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Friday, August 29, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Saturday, August 30, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Sunday, August 31, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, September 1, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

 

Check back soon for 2014 schedule of activities.

Did You Know?

Aerial photo of the Flint Hills at Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve

Kansas was once the bed of a vast inland sea. The unique, stairstep landscape of the Flint Hills was formed through a process of differential erosion. Erosion washed away the soft shale layers and left the tougher layers of limestone and flint to form the hilltops and prominent benches.