• The setting sun over the Flint Hills casts shadows across the wide expanse of tallgrass prairie.

    Tallgrass Prairie

    National Preserve Kansas

There are park alerts in effect.
show Alerts »
  • Reminder, Bison Are Wild Animals

    Windmill Pasture is home to the bison herd. They have been quite active in recent weeks. Please stay on the trails and use caution in their vicinity. Do not come in close contact with the bison. Allow at least 100 yards between you and the herd. More »

Schedule Of Events

Search for Events

Events Upcoming for September

Showing 31 results

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, September 1, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Tuesday, September 2, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Wednesday, September 3, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Thursday, September 4, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Friday, September 5, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Saturday, September 6, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Sunday, September 7, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, September 8, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Tuesday, September 9, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Wednesday, September 10, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Thursday, September 11, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Friday, September 12, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Saturday, September 13, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Sunday, September 14, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, September 15, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Tuesday, September 16, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Wednesday, September 17, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Thursday, September 18, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Friday, September 19, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Saturday, September 20, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Sunday, September 21, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, September 22, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Tuesday, September 23, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Wednesday, September 24, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Thursday, September 25, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Friday, September 26, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Saturday, September 27, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Sunday, September 28, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Monday, September 29, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Tuesday, September 30, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

  • Ranger Guided Ranch Tour

    Wednesday, October 1, 2014

    Tag along with a ranger and learn about the building of the ranch and the tallgrass prairie. More

 

Check back soon for 2014 schedule of activities.

Did You Know?

Grazing cattle at Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve

Cattle can gain up to 2 pounds per day grazing on the prairie grasses of the Flint Hills. The calcium found in the limestone erodes into the soil, making the prairie plants more nutritious for grazing animals. Cattle grazing is still the main agricultural use of the Flint Hills today.