English Camp Visitor Contact Station on Winter Schedule
The English Camp visitor contact station in the Royal Marine Barracks is closed for the season, starting September 2. Grounds are open daily from dawn to 11 p.m.
American Camp Visitor Center on Winter Schedule
The American Camp visitor center is open 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily from September 2 to June 6, 2015. Grounds remain open daily from dawn to 11 p.m. Telephone 360-378-2240, ext. 2227 or 2226 for information. More »
Ranger-guided Pre-visit Materials
American Camp Historic Guided Walk
The American Camp self-guided history walk helps visitors relive the Pig War on a one-mile trail that starts in the visitor center picnic area. The guide is conveniently numbered to correspond to numbered posts.
English Camp Historic Walk
Use this booklet to discover the many layers of English Camp's past along the route that starts at the bottom of the park entrance trail. The map and guide correspond to the numbered site markers.
Jakle's Lagoon Nature Walk
The purpose of this curriculum resource is to provide teachers and students with hands-on activities and materials to better understand this important historic event. Beyond the war’s quaint title, there is a deeper lesson: that people can and should take every opportunity to stop and listen to one another and to employ peaceful means to resolve conflicts.
Junior Ranger Activity Book
The Junior Ranger activity book is designed to help youngsters explore the visitor center and self-guided interpretive trails in the park units and experience activities conducted by the park rangers and volunteers. Completion of the booklet earns a Junior Ranger Badge.
Did You Know?
Many of San Juan Island's roads trace sheep runs cut by Hudson's Bay Company workers. They were led, in part, by Fort Victoria Chief Factor and colonial Gov. James Douglas, from 1853 to 1859. Many of the workers were Cowichan Indians from Vancouver Island.