Ferryboat EUREKA closed for maintenance.
Ferryboat EUREKA is closed beginning March 11 through the end of the month for maintenance. The gangway that links the ship to the pier needs to be raised so it can be repaired.
Waterfront Walking Tour
Contact: John Cunnane, 415-561-7170
NATIONAL PARK SERVICE OFFERS WATERFRONT WALKING TOUR!
“From Gold Rush to National Park” Tracks 160 Years of San Francisco History
Saturdays & Sundays, 10:30am, through August 2008, at the Argonaut Hotel, 495 Jefferson St.
Over the last 160 years, industry and recreation have changed San Francisco’s northern waterfront. San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park preserves one of the few authentic glimpses into the city’s development as an international port. Learn how this scenic park was an early battleground in the fight between preservation and development. Take a stroll with a Park Ranger through the Aquatic Park Historic District and Fisherman’s Wharf to discover the vibrant history of this waterfront area.
The tour is free, one hour long, and covers a distance of about one mile, with some gently sloping and uneven terrain. Meet in the lobby of the Argonaut Hotel, 495 Jefferson Street, near the corner of Jefferson and Hyde Streets. Dress in layers and wear good walking shoes.
San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park is located at the west end of Fisherman’s Wharf, in San Francisco. The park includes a magnificent fleet of historic ships, visitor center, maritime museum (closed for renovation) and library. For more information about the park, or its public programs, please call 415-447-5000 or visit the park’s website at http://www.nps.gov/safr.
# # #
Did You Know?
This "Plimsoll Mark" is painted on the port side of Balclutha and named for Samuel Plimsoll, an Englishman who fought to pass the Merchant Shipping Act of 1876. Before this law, many ships were dangerously overloaded and many sank. These “coffin ships” claimed the lives of many sailors. More...