• A section of the bowsprint and figurehead on the bow of BALCLUTHA.

    San Francisco Maritime

    National Historical Park California

There are park alerts in effect.
show Alerts »
  • Ferryboat EUREKA closed for maintenance.

    Ferryboat EUREKA is closed for maintenance. The gangway that links the ship to the pier is being repaired.

Junior Ranger Day Highlights National Park Week

Junior Ranger logo
Junior Ranger logo

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
News Release Date: April 19, 2010
Contact: Chris Edwards, 415-561-7170


On Saturday, April 24, San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park celebrates national Junior Ranger Day with a range of kids activities at Hyde Street Pier, on San Francisco’s Fisherman’s Wharf. This day is the culmination of National Park Week, April 17-25, when all national parks are open free of admission charge. The park is open from 9:30am to 5:00pm, with kids activities 10am-4pm.

On Hyde Street Pier, kids can take a treasure map and locate all the hidden treasures within San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park. There are four historic floating vessels for kids and their accompanying adults to explore at their own leisure.

Children aged 5-12 can also earn a San Francisco Maritime Junior Ranger badge by completing the activities in the Junior Ranger booklet.

For more information, please call the Visitor Center at 415-447-5000.

San Francisco Maritime National Historical Park is located at the west end of Fisherman’s Wharf, in San Francisco. The park includes a magnificent fleet of historic ships, visitor center, Aquatic Park Historic District, and library. For more information about the park, or its public programs, please call 415-447-5000 or visit the park’s website at http://www.nps.gov/safr.

###                                                       04-09-10

Did You Know?

The exterior of the historic brick buiding that houses the park visitor center.

The brick building that houses the Visitor Center was built in 1908. It was originally constructed as a warehouse for the California Fruit Canners Association. The building was was given Landmark Status in 1975.