• Rock Creek

    Rock Creek

    Park District of Columbia

There are park alerts in effect.
show Alerts »
  • Rock Creek and Potomac Parkway Lane Closures and Construction Update Summer 2014

    Construction work on Rock Creek and Potomac Parkway at Waterside Drive continues. There will be lane closures between rush hours to accommodate work on the roadway, multi-use trail and infrastructure. More »

For Kids

ROCR Junior Ranger Camp 2012 Photo B

2012 Junior Ranger campers having fun and being silly in Rock Creek Park.

2014 SUMMER CAMP SCHEDULE AND REGISTRATION INFORMATION

Registration for June and July camps begin Wednesday, May 21st, at 9:00 a.m.

Registration for all August camps begin Wednesday, June 18th, at 9:00 a.m.

Registration may be completed in person at the Nature Center (5200 Glover Road NW) or by phone (202-895-6070).

All camps are free.

All camps except for the astronomy camps run from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The astronomy camps will run from 4:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Civil War Camp

7/8 year olds = Wednesday, June 25
9/10 year olds = Wednesday, July 2
11/12 year olds = Wednesday, July 9

Junior Ranger Camp

7/8 year olds = Wednesday, July 16 to Thursday, July 17
9/10 year olds = Wednesday, July 23 to Thursday, July 24
11/12 year olds = Wednesday, July 30 to Thursday, July 31

Astronomy Camp

7/8 year olds = Saturday, June 21
9/10 year olds = Saturday, July 19
11/12 year olds = Saturday, August 9

Art in the Park Camp

7/8 year olds = Wednesday, August 6
9/10 year olds = Wednesday, August 13
11/12 year olds = Wednesday, August 20

Descriptions of Camps

Commemorating the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Fort Stevens, Rock Creek Park's first ever Civil War Camp will shed light on this critical historic event. Activities will include signing an "enlistment contract," completing army drills, exploring Civil War sites, setting up a Civil War tent, and more.

The Junior Ranger Camp serves as an introduction to the natural and cultural resources of Rock Creek Park. Campers will enjoy hikes, planetarium programs, a visit to historic Peirce Mill, arts and crafts, and games.

Astronomy Camp will further your camper's understanding of and appreciation for astronomy and the night sky. Activities will include hands-on activities, planetarium programs, completing a special Dark Sky Junior Ranger booklet, and stargazing session.

The Art in the Park Camp will bring out your camper's creative side. Activities might include poetry writing, photography, painting, music, and more.

For questions about summer camps, please call 202-895-6070.

Did You Know?

Great Horned Owl

Three kinds of owls make their homes in Rock Creek Park, the Great Horned Owl, the Barred Owl and the little Screech Owl.