• East view from Crissy Field overlook with old Coast Guard station on left and city on right

    Presidio of San Francisco

    California

The Stables

   
The stables at the Presidio were built in 1914.
 

The stables at the Presidio were built in 1914 after the 9th Cavalry was garrisoned here in 1903. The original stables were located in what would become known as Crissy Field. They were moved to their present location when the 1915 Panama-Pacific International Exposition was built on the bay front.

In the later years, Buffalo Soldier cavalry regiments on their rotations to and from the Philippines used these stables for short periods.

A Buffalo Soldier exhibit (a small section shown below) was created in Building 661 for middle school students in 2000. It included hands-on items, like a replica McClellan saddle that can be mounted, a buffalo hide that can be worn, and audio segments to tell of the life of the Buffalo Soldier. Because Building 661 houses horses for the Park Police mounted patrol and is not open to the public, the exhibit was moved to the temporary Presidio visitors center in Building 105 on Montgomery Street in 2012. Visitors can now experience the exhibit at that location Thursday through Sunday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

 
The Buffalo Soldier exhibit includes hands on items like saddles and buffalo hides.
 

Did You Know?

Detail from Spanish Coat of Arms

While stationed at the Presidio, the U.S. Army adopted the Coat of Arms of Royal Spain for heraldry purposes. The seal appeared on vehicles, signs, and badges throughout the post.