Operational Changes Took Effect on May 1
The Lighthouse Visitor Center is now only open Fridays through Mondays; closed Tuesdays through Thursdays, including Thanksgiving. The Kenneth C. Patrick Visitor Center will be closed through late December, reopening weekends and holidays on December 28. More »
Visitor Center Winter Hours
Visitor Center Winter Hours took effect on Sunday, November 3, 2013. More »
Coast Miwok Material Culture
The Coast Miwok are the only known Native American tribal group to occupy all of Marin and Southern Sonoma Counties. Obsidian hydration has dated their occupation back several millennia. A collection of worked obsidian, bone, stone mortars and tools, and shell are now held in the museum with faunal remains and debitage. These materials were excavated by archeologists from San Francisco Bay Area universities in the 1960s-1980s in cooperation with the National Park Service on lands within the park boundaries. Unique coastal materials used to make tools and ornaments include whale bone, abalone, clam and olivella shells. Studies indicate significant prehistoric manufacturing sites existed on the Peninsula where beads and ornaments were made from these materials.
A larger type sample of individual items from a number of excavated sites is available on the National Park Service web catalog site where catalog records with images are posted. Use search term Coast Miwok.
Did You Know?
The Point Reyes Lighthouse was completed in 1870, 16 years after Congress initially appropriated funds for its construction. It still stands in its original location, having weathered over 140 years at what is considered to be the windiest, foggiest location on the US west coast. More...