Access to Peirce Mill is limited
Due to flooding access to Peirce Mill is limited to the main level. National Park Service staff will continue to be available to answer questions about the mill during normal operating hours. The lower level will be closed until cleaned.
History & Culture
The most successful water-powered gristmill along Rock Creek, Peirce Mill ran commercially from the 1820s until 1897. Restored in the 1930s, 1970s, and the first decade of the 21st Century, the mill today serves as an educational site connecting visitors to Rock Creek Park's rich heritage. For more information on the history of Peirce Mill, click on a link below.
Rock Creek Park's Historic Peirce Mill Recalled to Life, by John DeFerrari.
Peirce Mill Cultural Landscape Report, Volume One, by the National Park Service.
Peirce Mill: A Flourishing Industrial Complex, by the Friends of Peirce Mill.
Did You Know?
There are three stands of millstones on Peirce Mill. Two of these stands are hard, granitic rock and used to process large grains such as corn. The third stand of millstones in Peirce Mill are called French Buhr stones and made it possible for the mill to produce a purer grade of flour.