Windows with painted cast iron and ornamentation on the upper floor of commercial buildings on Main Street in Madison, Indiana.
Discover Our Shared Heritage Travel Itinerary
Madison, Indiana

HMI Warehouses

Historic Madison, Inc., uses these warehouses for storage.

Historic Madison, Inc., uses these warehouses for storage.
Courtesy of Larry Hunt

The two long, narrow buildings on Elm Street served as 19th-century industrial spaces, but incorporate charming Italianate details not usually used for utilitarian construction. Pressed metal brackets support the gables' overhanging eaves, while doors and windows have segmental arch brick crowns. The facades’ central double wood panel doors and upper story paired windows have carved decorative wood inserts between the elements and their brick crowns. 116 Elm Street’s skylights help illuminate the interior and the building still has portions of its original slate roof.

Built between 1887 and 1892, 116 and 120 Elm were originally used as a carriage houses and stables for Alexander Lanier, son of prominent banker James Lanier, and Madison attorney John Robert Cravens. While both buildings started as places for horses and wagons, they took on more industrial uses during the mid-20th century. 116 Elm Street, the building with a simple front porch over the main entrance, was the home of the Trow’s Flour Mill cooperage during the early 20th century. More recently, 116 Elm Street has been a tobacco prizing house for the Hughes Tobacco Company. The industrial presses once used to pack and bail dried tobacco leaves and ceiling tracks that helped move the massive bales through the long building are still in place. 120 Elm continued to be used as a stable after the R. McKim Coal Company purchased the building for its coal-cart horses. During the 1950s and 1960s, it was converted into a warehouse for C & R Auto Parts.

Historic Madison, Inc. now uses both of the properties as storage facilities. The Tobacco Prizing House, acquired by HMI in 1970, holds architectural salvage materials gathered from local historic buildings. Madison property owners looking for historic architectural details for their renovation and restoration efforts can search through HMI’s inventory of wood frame windows, iron fencing, mantels, and hardware. The Carriage House, purchased in 1990, holds part of the Ben Schroeder Saddletree Factory Collection and includes numerous items from the Schroeder residence and factory.

The two warehouse buildings contribute to the historic significance of the Madison Historic District, which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and designated a National Historic Landmark.

Plan your visit

The HMI Warehouses at 116 and 120 Elm St. are owned by Historic Madison, Inc. Click here for the Madison Historic District National Historic Landmark file: text. The warehouses are not open to the public but are easily viewed from the street. For more information about Historic Madison, Inc.'s architectural salvage efforts, visit the Historic Madison, Inc. website or call 812-265-2967.

The Carriage House and Stables, 120 Elm St., has been documented in the National Park Service’s Historic American Engineering Record.

Next page
Comments or Questions

Itinerary Home | List of sites | Maps | Learn More | Credits | Other Itineraries | NR Home | Search