Fort McPherson, one of the most picturesque installations in the South,
has been an important military post since its inception in 1889. The
fort was named for Union General James McPherson who was killed in
the Battle of Atlanta during the Civil War. It has had a variety of
missions, including serving as a convalescence center during the Spanish-American
War and World War I, and as a processing center during WWII. The buildings
in the northeast corner of the property constitute Staff Row and Old
Post Area. Built from 1891 to 1910, this district includes a parade
field and 40 buildings, including officers' quarters.
Birdseye view of Fort McPherson
in 1900 showing original post area
Photo from National Register collection
All of the buildings retain their original red brick walls and white
wood trim. The majority have a common bond brick pattern, arched windows,
gabled roofs with wood decking, and hand-seamed metal roofing. A few,
such as Buildings 5 and 10, have circular walls with domed roofs.
Almost all of the buildings along Staff Row (Buildings 1-20) have
intricate brickwork on the chimneys and trim. Classical details are
also found in the roof trim with dentilled entablatures. Building
10 stands out most prominently in the district. Designed in the Queen
Anne style, it has a rambling plan with several turrets with small-paned
windows. It also employs classical elements, including Doric columns.
Today, Fort McPherson serves as the Headquarters of the U.S. Army
Historic images of the Old Post
Area including an aerial view from the 1920s, Quarters Bldg.
#10, in the early 1900s and Quarters Bldg #18 in the 1930s
Photos from National Register collection
The Staff Row and Old Post Area is located in the north east
corner of Fort McPherson. The Fort is not accessible to the public.
For more information visit the Fort's website.
Atlanta Home | Maps
| List of Sites |
Learn More | Itineraries | NR Home
| Next Site
Essays: Antebellum Atlanta | Industrial
Atlanta | African American Experience
| Growth and Preservation