• Traditional dances are an important Samoan tradition.

    National Park of American Samoa

    American Samoa


Vatia Village.
Vatia Village view.


The Samoa archipelago is a chain of nine inhabited Pacific islands located 14º south of the equator. It is divided into two political entities, American Samoa and the neighboring independent country of (Western) Samoa.

American Samoa, the only U.S. Territory south of the equator, consists of five rugged, highly eroded volcanic islands, and two coral atolls. The five volcanic islands are Tutuila, Aunu'u, Ofu, Olosega, and Ta'u, and the two remote atolls are Rose and Swains islands. The total land area is 76.1 square miles.

American Samoa's population is about 70,000, with most of the people on Tutuila. Tuna fishing and canning are the only industries.

Did You Know?

Pacific golden plover in breeding plumage—soon to be flying 5,500 miles to the Alaskan Arctic

During northern summers, three shorebirds--plover, turnstone, and tattler--nest in Alaska and northern Canada. After nesting, they fly non-stop over 3,000 miles of open ocean to Hawaii. After briefly resting there, they continue another 2,500 miles to American Samoa. The round-trip journey each year is 11,000 miles!