• Historic Image of New York Harbor

    National Parks of New York Harbor

    New York


The mission of the National Parks of New York Harbor is to enhance the identity, visibility and public support of our sites, to collaborate with others in the New York-New Jersey metropolitan area in the care and appropriate use of all historic, recreational and natural resources, and to promote the National Park Service.

The National Parks of New York Harbor (NPNH) consists of 22 sites within the 10 national parks on and around New York Harbor that seek to think, plan and operate collaboratively in order to more effectively carry out the respective missions of each individual park unit. Rather than overriding the entities that comprise it, NPNH recognizes the greater value of strategic cooperation in maximizing resources and providing visitors with a richer, more comprehensive understanding of the unique New York experience.

The National Parks of New York Harbor is an organizational network, not an operational organization. Park superintendents are responsible for management of their respective units as well as active participation in the larger initiative.

Did You Know?

Dutch windmill

Martin Van Buren was the first bilingual president. He was raised in a community where Dutch was more common than English reflecting New York’s beginning as a colony of Holland. As a boy he spoke Dutch at home with his parents, siblings, and throughout the Village of Kinderhook.