Welcome to the Niagara Falls National Heritage Area

Designated by Congress in 2008, the Niagara Falls National Heritage Area stretches from the western boundary of Wheatfield, New York to the mouth of the Niagara River on Lake Ontario, including the communities of Niagara Falls, Youngstown, and Lewiston. The region is home to natural wonders, rich cultural traditions, and nationally significant historical sites.

Read More


a deep blue river winds slowly through a hilly forest with golden and red leaves

Park Planning

View the Niagara Falls National Heritage Area Management Plan.

Read More
Two children lean in, to look out a window over a river and a large blue sign

What is a National Heritage Area?

National Heritage Areas are places where natural, cultural, historic, and scenic resources tell a rich and distinctly American story.

Read More
a large grey building with a green lawn and a cannon in front of it. behind it a bright blue sky with wispy white clouds

History & Culture

The Niagara Falls National Heritage Area is rich in extant resources defining the history and culture of the area surrounding this natural wonder.

Read More

Did You Know?