• National Historic Landmarks Program


National Historic Landmarks Program


National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, just over 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. Working with citizens throughout the nation, the National Historic Landmarks Program draws upon the expertise of National Park Service staff who guide the nomination process for new Landmarks and provide assistance to existing Landmarks.


Learn: NHL information and publications Find: Locate NHLs and NHL nominations Apply: Nominate a new Landmark News: Recent news and upcoming events Contact: Program offices, plus info for existing NHLs


Director Jarvis Announces Four New National Historic Landmarks!

On August 4, Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell and National Park Service Director Jonathan B. Jarvis announced the designation of four new National Historic Landmarks: the George Washington Masonic National Memorial (Alexandria, Virginia), Red Rocks Park and Mount Morrison Civilian Conservation Corps Camp (Jefferson County, Colorado), First Peoples Buffalo Jump (Cascade County, Montana), and Lafayette Park (Detroit, Michigan). To learn more about these NHLs, please consult the nominations on our Fall 2014 Landmarks Committee meeting page.