NPS Arrowhead Graphic and Link to NPS Website Top Banner for the Natinal Wild and Scenic Rivers Program  in the Northeast Home Page


Menu Button to Upcoming Rivers Events

Menu Button for Wild and Scenic Rivers Overview

Title Button above Menu Button to Individual Rivers
 Menu Button to Sudbury, Assabet and Concord Rivers
Menu Button for Great Egg Harbor River Menu Button to Farmington River PageMenu Button to Lamprey River PageMenu Button for Lower Delaware River

Menu Button for Maurice River

Menu Button for White Clay Creek RiverTitle Above Wild and River Studies Title Button

Menu Button to Taunton and Eightmile Rivers Study section

Menu Button to Taunton Economic Impact Study Page





A Northeast Region Program

Dennis Reidenbach
Regional Director









"It is hereby declared to be the policy of the United States that certain selected rivers of the Nation, with their immediate environments, possess outstandingly remarkable scenic, recreational, geologic, fish and wildlife, historic, cultural, or other similar values, shall be preserved in free flowing condition, and that they and their immediate environments shall be protected for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations." Wild and Scenic Rivers Act

Image of New River

What is a Partnership Wild and Scenic River?

The National Wild and Scenic River System has been around for 30 years. Created by an act of Congress in 1968, the Wild and Scenic Rivers Act calls on the nation to preserve select rivers with outstanding scenic, recreational, geologic, fish and wildlife, historic, cultural or other important values in free-flowing condition. Rivers in this national system are protected for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations.

Partnership Wild and Scenic Rivers are a subset of this national system. While most of the 160 rivers in the National Wild and Scenic Rivers System flow through federal lands such as National Forests or National Parks, Wild and Scenic Partnership Rivers flow through private lands and lands owned by state and local goverments. The seven rivers designated and currently funded by Congress are located in the Northeast. The program is a national program. Congress has designated the first river outside of the Northeast. the Wekiva River and two of its tributaries in Florida, to Partnership Wild and Scenic River status.

The Northeast is Home to Seven Partnership Rivers

The partnership rivers in the Northeast include the Farmington (Connecticut), Great Egg Harbor (New Jersey), Maurice and its tributaries (New Jersey), Lamprey (New Hampshire), Concord, Sudbury, and Assabet Rivers (Massachusetts), Lower Delaware (New Jersey/Pennsylvania) and White Clay Creek (Delaware/Pennsylvania.)

Since 1998, Congress has appropriate funds for river managers of Parnership Wild and Scenic Rivers. National Park Service staff help communities manage their river-related resources locally by bringing together state, county, and community representatives to preserve the outstanding and remarkable values for which the rivers were designated. This is community-based conservation that will ensure these rivers will remain outstanding long into the future.



Continue to River Management

Last Updated:
September 23, 2009