NHL HONORABLE MENTIONS
Holy Assumption Russian Orthodox Church
Photographer: Dirk Spennemann
Holy Assumption Russian Orthodox Church, dating from the 1890s, is the most enduring representative of Russian
culture in south central Alaska. The site consists of the church, rectory, cemetery, and chapel (1906), located on the Russian Mission Reserve in the City
of Kenai. The church is a classic example of Russian ship design, and it is fronted by a square tower base supporting an octagonal cupola and onion dome.
Behind the tower, the square nave and polygonal sanctuary also have onion domes. Inside, a richly appointed iconostas contains several rare examples of
Russian iconography that predate the church.
Johnson’s Island Civil War Prison
Photographer: David R. Bush
Johnson’s Island, the site of a prisoners of war camp during much of the Civil War, is located in Sandusky Bay, an
arm of Lake Erie. The wooded island was close to Sandusky, where provisions could be obtained yet small enough to be easily managed. The prison was designed to
house 1,000 prisoners, but at times more than 3,000 Confederates, most of them officers, were confined to the island. Although plots and conspiracies by
Confederate agents operating from Canadian sanctuaries with Northern Copperheads to foment mass escapes came to naught, they compelled the Lincoln
Administration to divert needed resources of men and material from more important theaters of the war. The prison cemetery and memorial statue installed
in 1910, “Southern” by Moses Ezekiel, serve as poignant reminders of Johnson’s Island’s role in the turbulent Civil War.
Oak Alley Plantation
Photographer: Marla Jordon
Originally named “Bon Sejour,” this plantation was constructed between 1837 and 1839 on the Mississippi River between
New Orleans and Baton Rouge. It is a fine example of the few remaining full peripheral plantation houses, with a colonnade of twenty-eight Doric columns. A double
row of giant live oak trees forms the 800-foot-long “oak alley” that was an important component of the processional landscape leading to the main house. The house
is now open to the public and captures the iconic image of the grand southern plantation.
Torrance County, New Mexico
Photographer: Gary Koutsoubis
The pueblo, church, and monastery ruins that remain at this abandoned site represent the early contact in the American
Southwest between native Pueblo Indian groups and Spanish colonials. Spanish missionary work began at Quarai pueblo around 1620. Mission La Purisima Concepcion de
Cuarac was built in 1629 and abandoned in 1674. At some point during its operations, the site served as the ecclesiastical headquarters of the Inquisition in New
Mexico. By 1678, due to Apache raiding and severe famines, Quarai was abandoned. The ruins are now part of the Salinas Pueblo Missions National Monument
administered by the National Park Service.
Pine Mountain Settlement School
Photographer: Wendy Wheatcraft
The Pine Mountain Settlement School, launched in 1913, was one of the most important efforts to adapt the urban
settlement house model to a rural community. Katherine Pettit and Ethel de Long, the founders of this school, were moved by the limitations of the one-room
schools, the primitive dwellings, and the harsh lives of women living in the region. The school offered instruction in traditional subjects and practical arts
such as furniture making, home nursing, weaving, and stockraising. In addition, the preservation of ballads, folk songs, and dances instilled a knowledge and
appreciation of mountain heritage to attendees. The small, traditional log structure known as Creech Cabin stands as a testament to the local resident who donated
the land for this important educational initiative.
St. Luke’s Church
Photographer: Keith Lanpher
This brick building is one of the nation’s premier architectural links to its medieval British heritage. Founded in 1632,
but likely dating from the last quarter of the 17th century, the church has a prominent tower, lancet-arched windows, wall buttresses, and a traceried east window
shown here — all hallmarks of English Gothic architecture. Surrounding the church is a cemetery dotted with stone grave markers, reminiscent of small, medieval parish
churchyards. The church no longer serves an active parish, but remains open as a historic and religious shrine.
San Antonio, Texas
Photographer: Steven W. Martin
On February 24, 1836, during the Texan War for Independence, approximately 5,000 Mexican soldiers under the command of
Antonio Lopez de Santa Ana besieged less than 200 Texans and their supporters in this mission church. Thirteen days later, the Mexicans stormed the Alamo from all
sides and killed all 187 defenders, including famed frontiersmen James Bowie and David Crockett. This defeat won sympathy for the Texan cause in the United States
and strengthened Texan will to throw off Mexican domination. The Alamo is now open to the public as a monument to the Texas patriots who died within its
Historic Augusta Canal and Industrial District
Photographer: RReginald (Reggie) Fraser
This intact canal system and mills, constructed in 1845 to 1846 and enlarged in 1874 to 1877, represents the Southern
industrial experience both before and after the Civil War. Attendant textile mills along the canal date primarily from the 1870s and 1880s. The mills helped Augusta
become one of the South’s leading textile centers in the early 20th century. The headgate and lock depicted here mark the separation of the canal system from the
Savannah River. The system of canals, towpaths, and mills in the district now compose part of the Augusta Canal National Heritage Area.
Photographer: Elizabeth T. Becker
A schooner yacht and pilot boat, Adventuress is a significant example of the “fisherman profile” favored by Bowdoin
B. Crowninshield, a noted early 20th-century American naval architect whose work was influential in the development of American yachts and fishing schooners.
Built in 1913 for the purpose of private Arctic exploration and hunting, the San Francisco Bar Pilots acquired Adventuress the following year for use as a
pilot boat. Until 1952, Adventuress guided maritime traffic across the treacherous San Francisco Bar into the busy port of San Francisco. Sound Experience,
a nonprofit in the Washington Puget Sound area, now operates Adventuress as a sailing school vessel.
Pleasant Hill Historic District
Trustees’ Office, Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill
Mercer County, Kentucky
Photographer: A. Sayre Hutchison
Shakertown at Pleasant Hill was founded in 1805, and by 1820 approximately 500 members of The United Society of
Believers in Christ’s Second Appearing were living and worshiping in this community. Micajah Burnett was in charge of building operations, and most of his
work typifies the straightforward, no-nonsense Shaker aesthetic. The spiral staircase of the Trustees’ Office exemplifies the simplistic beauty of the Shaker
style. Shakertown, one of the most successful 19th-century religious communitarian settlements, dissolved in 1910.
have questions or comments about the NHL photo contest, please contact: