Explore the many features of Keweenaw National Historical Park. These short multimedia presentations provide details on park places and stories. The videos average two to three minutes in length.
The Calumet Visitor Center at the Union Building
Built as a lodge for two fraternal organizations in 1888, the Union Building is now home to the Calumet Visitor Center. Three fully accessible floors house numerous museum pieces, interactive exhibits and films.
Running Time: 2:17 minutes
Quincy Mine Site
Running Time: 2:40 minutes
A Copper Country Icon: Quincy Mine's Shaft-Rockhouse
Remnants of Calumet & Hecla:
Calumet: Queen City of the Keweenaw
Future Features (currently in production)
The Timber Industry
Bats in Mines
Winter in the Keweenaw
What is Keweenaw National Historical Park
Did You Know?
Despite ups and downs in copper production and prices, the Quincy Mining Company on Michigan's Keweenaw Peninsula was able to pay its investors dividends nearly every year from 1862 to 1920, earning it the nickname "Old Reliable." The company closed in 1945, but continued to operate the smelter until 1971.