Calumet's Union Building
Within the windows and walls of Calumet's Union Building is a rich and vibrant history. Behind the glass and bricks was a place where business flourished and secret societies met. Whether they were whispered in beauty salon chairs or told by members of fraternal organizations, the stories of this place have one common thread – this building.
Keweenaw NHP Archives
Keweenaw NHP Archives.
Keweenaw NHP Collection
By donating land to certain groups, C&H attempted to shape the local community to foster its need for a stable, productive and loyal workforce. As a link between the community and company, the Union Building and the people who passed through its doors reveal stories of a copper mining town. This building, like others downtown, provides a window into Calumet’s past.
Did You Know?
Despite ups and downs in copper production and prices, the Quincy Mining Company on Michigan's Keweenaw Peninsula was able to pay its investors dividends nearly every year from 1862 to 1920, earning it the nickname "Old Reliable." The company closed in 1945, but continued to operate the smelter until 1971.