Location: Arch grounds
Time: 6:00 PM to 8:00 PMFee Information: FreeContact Name: Richard FeffermanContact Phone Number: 314-655-1750 x472
Meet at the north leg of the Gateway Arch at 6 PM for the "Ghosts of the Arch Grounds" Ranger-led twilight walk, which will discuss the various "incarnations" of the Arch Grounds, as it changed from French-style colonial village to warehouse district, to the present National Park. The tour includes the fortunes and misfortunes of St. Louis historical figures such as Thomas Targee, James Eads, architect Eero Saarinen, and others. The tour will be followed by free telescope viewing led by volunteers from the St. Louis Astronomical Society, weather permitting. Call 314-655-1750 ext. 472 the afternoon of the event to check if the weather is questionable.
Jefferson National Expansion Memorial, which includes the Gateway Arch and Old Courthouse, is one of the units of the National Park Service. The area around the Gateway Arch has always served as the "front lawn" of St. Louis going back to the City's founding in 1764, and the Park encourages unique events to take place there.