• Inauguration

    2013 Presidential Inauguration

    District of Columbia

National Mall and Memorial Parks Presidential Sites

Presidential Sites in National Mall and Memorial Parks

After the First Federal Congress passed the Residence Act of 1790, President George Washington selected the exact site for the republic's new federal government along the bank of the Potomac River. Secretary of State, and future president, Thomas Jefferson offered his assistance to President Washington's city planner Peter L'Enfant and eventually an impressive federal city emerged.

The resulting federal parkland, therefore, is the oldest such land managed by the National Park Service. In its administration of this parkland, National Mall and Memorial Parks shares the privilege with other units of the Greater Washington National Parks system.

National Mall and Memorial Parks proudly administers many sites dedicated to presidential leadership and historic events affected by presidential action. The park invites you to visit these sites as well as a host of other sites possessing impressive and historic presidential connections.

Presidential Sites

The National Mall and Memorial Parks presidential sites have become iconic images of the United States of America and the park invites everyone to visit them and be a part of American history.

  • Washington Monument - James K. Polk attended the cornerstone-laying ceremony on July 4, 1848 along with future president, Congressman Abraham Lincoln. Chester A. Arthur dedicated the monument on February 21, 1885. Woodrow Wilson, Harry S Truman, and Barack Obama each visited the monument during their presidencies.
  • Thomas Jefferson Memorial - Franklin D. Roosevelt attended both the 1939 cornerstone-laying and the April 13, 1943 dedication ceremonies for this tribute to the third President of the United States. Numerous American Presidents have visited this site during their presidencies, including, most recently, George W. Bush in 2001.
  • Lincoln Memorial - Warren G. Harding accepted the memorial on behalf of the American people on May 30, 1922, along with Vice President Calvin Coolidge and former president William Howard Taft. The site recently has served as the backdrop for several pre-inaugural ceremonies, including those for Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, William Jefferson Clinton, George W. Bush, and Barack H. Obama.
  • Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial - Dedicated by William Jefferson Clinton in 1997, the memorial remained a popular venue for special events throughout the remainder of the Clinton Administration. To mark the anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) during the early part of the 21st century, a commemorative stone was added during a ceremony attended by former President George H.W. Bush.

Did You Know?